top of page

The Hem

Friday, ‎July ‎22, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 119:30

I have chosen the way of truth; Your judgments I have laid before me.

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: PSALM 31-32 ACTS 23:16-35


The Hem


There are three places in Holy scripture where the hem of the garment of Jesus is mentioned: Matthew 9:19-21, Matthew 14:35-36, and the last, Mark 6:55-56, says wherever He entered, into villages, cities, or the country, they laid the sick in the marketplaces, and begged Him that they might just touch the hem of His garment. And as many as touched Him were made well.


The generic term for tunic in Hebrew is 'ketonet'. These went from head to the ankles with sleeves to the wrist. This was the basic clothing in Bible times in Israel. They sometimes wore an inner garment when it was cooler but the ketonet is what you see depicted in illustrations of Bible characters and it is most likely what Jesus wore. We assume this because everyone wore much the same thing.


This tunic had a hem on the bottom as do most garments of any kind and this would, at ankle length, come in contact with the owner's sandals and anything that he or she had stepped in during the day. It was, the hem, the part turned up and sewn to make a double edge. This kept the garment from unraveling and was the dirtiest part.


The people said or thought, "If we can touch only or just the hem of His garment", the dirtiest part. This was a show of 'hallowing the name' of Christ. They were in awe of someone so holy.


I have never seen what is commonly called, 'the northern lights' but folks tell me that is hard to wrap your head around. I've never seen the Pacific ocean or the Grand canyon or Yellowstone but all these inspire awe at first sight, I am told.


But I have actually knelt in the mud and prayed for God to stop the rain and opened my eyes to see the clouds opening up to sunshine. I have seen people bow their heads, close their eyes, ask God for His new life in Christ, and have seen them go away from there as new creatures. I have seen folks wake from a comatose state and have them tell me what I said in yesterday's prayer I offered at their bedside.


I know that years in the Lord's ministry has given me experiences thatsome never see but I also know that all of us share the same Lord. Our Lord has not only done wonderful things but He continues to do wonderful things--all the time.


No matter what you are going through, the hem of His garment is still enough-if-your faith stands you in awe of what God is capable. That is all it took for the many to be healed-their faith in an awesome God who was walking among them.


Luke 17:6 ►He(Jesus) replied, “If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it will obey you.


Now, Jesus lives in your heart. Say this to yourself,"This same great God lives in my heart". Say it over and over. Live it. Breathe it. Know it. Know Him...seek Him.


...because he loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive my weak grasp of faith in You. Help me to seek You and have the faith of the people who reached for the hem of Christ's garment.

Faithful and endlessly loving God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page