top of page

More On Healthy Fear

Tuesday, May 21,2024


  Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day: Romans 15:5-6

Now may the God of patience and comfort grant you to be like-minded toward one another, according to Christ Jesus, that you may with one mind and one mouth glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.


Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading: 1 CHRONICLES 16-18 JOHN 7:28-53


More On Healthy Fear


Jeremiah 32:39

39 I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them.


God has given us one heart and one way.

In John 14, Jesus says, "I am the way, the truth and the Life and no man comes to the Father but by me".


Ezekiel 36:26 I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.(A heart of flesh is alive and feeling-stone is not alive and cannot feel.)


God has given us Jesus-our way to Him along with a new heart of 'feeling' flesh and His Holy Spirit who inhabits us-His Spirit of Truth


From John 14: 15-31- 15 “If you love me, keep my commands. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth.


Jeremiah 32:31 also says that He gives us one heart and one way so, "they will fear me for their own good and the good of their children".


For our own good. He has given us all He has for our own good.


We do not fear God like an abusive adult in our youth or a playground bully-these use power to manipulate and oppress. Jesus came to set us free from this anxiety and oppression, Luke 4:18; 1 Peter 5:6&7.


Then Jeremiah 32:40 says,

"I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me."


We may have a hard time seeing this fear as a blessing, but the Bible says it is for our 'own good' 'that they may not turn from me'.


God's promise, His covenant with us, is that He will not turn away from doing good to us-not for us but to us. This blessing of fear reminds us of the awesome power that God has and what He is capable of and at the same time assures us He will never stop doing good to us.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

By pushing fear of You back and trying to ignore this blessed reality, I have allowed sin to creep in. Build in me a divine fear for You so I may hallow Your name and not turn from You.

My God of awesome and fearful power who never stops doing me good.

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page