top of page

Daily Resolve

Saturday, December 30, ‎2023


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:   John 14:1-3 New King James Version

“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.

Memory verse: Philippians 4:8 ►Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Today's reading: ZECHARIAH 13-14 REVELATION 2


Daily Resolve

I remain against the  idea of 'new year's resolutions' for the Christ follower because His mercies are new every morning(Lamentations 2:22-23), not just once a year and so each day we should set our jaws like flint(Isaiah 50:7) in our resolve to follow the Holy Spirit's leading(Galatians 5:16).


Jesus prayed in John 17:24 “Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world."


We have a great hope(2 Corinthians 3:12) in the future at home with Christ Jesus after this life has ended. But what about now? What about the 'abundant life' that sometimes seems so very distant because of the pain and trials of this world?


We must seek God to find in Him the joy He intends. It is, then, our focus that has to change. Physical pain, illness, loss of loved ones-the list seems endless.


We see the 'badness' of the world. We must hear the voice of God and feel His heart for us by seeking His kingdom(Matthew 6:33) and pray that the statement of the Psalmist becomes ours:

 "I remain confident of this:

    I will see the goodness of the Lord

    in the land of the living." Psalm 27:13


If we see the goodness of God in our lives everyday, our focus has changed...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven, Holy God,

 Forgive me for always focusing on the pain . Teach me, I pray, to see Your goodness everyday in this land of Your living.

Great teacher and master,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page