top of page

Good Neighbor


Saturday, August 29, 2020 Good morning, Lord V.O.D.: Galatians 3:28 New King James Version There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus. M.O.M.: Psalm 27:13 I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Today's reading: Psalm 129-131, 1 Corinthians 11:1-16

The Good Neighbor

Can we love and grow in a secluded world? We get shut up in our worlds and hardly know our neighbors. My next-door, neighbor is getting on in years but still mows his own yard and sometimes comes into my yard and mows a little. He always wants me to know that if I am working in the yard and I need a tool or saw, he has one I can use.

I have known this man for over thirty years, long before we moved here. He has always been known as a good man-a good neighbor.(He is also known for his faith in the Lord.)

What does it take to be known as a good neighbor? I think the key is in this scripture, "Let no one seek his own good, but the good of his neighbor." 1 Corinthians 10:24 (the ERV reads. "24 Try to do what is good for others, not just what is good for yourselves.")

Not that we seek to be a good neighbor, but that we seek the good of our neighbor. That's hard to separate. I want to be known as a good neighbor but to not be motivated by my ego but motivated by Godly love and concern.

Relax. We all start on the inside and with the help of the Holy Spirit, we move outward. Thinking of others first is not natural for most of us but God remedies that.

God changes our focus if we focus on Him. Jesus meets needs now just as He did every day He was on this earth.

Put neighbors on the prayer list, first-especially those you really don't care much for-the very top. Then pray for you and yours. Become a good neighbor. Be Jesus to them. Paul said in 1 Corinthians 10:33," I try to please everyone in every way. I am not trying to do what is good for me. I am trying to do what is good for the most people so that they can be saved."

This can be exhausting if we get our eyes on the wrong thing. If we depend on our own energies to please all people it can get us down in a hurry. The goal is always loving people the way God loves us. God will take care of the rest.

...because He loves us...

Heavenly Father, Take me out of the front of my thoughts, oh God. Let me see the needs of those around me. Give me compassion for those I don't care for. Teach me love for them. Forgive me, Lord, for failing to love unconditionally. Gracious and loving God! In the name of our Lord Jesus, Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page