top of page

Your Blood

‎Monday, ‎July ‎18, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Romans 1:16

For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: PSALM 20-22 ACTS 21:1-17


But With Your Blood


A writer was writing about a genius he knew and said,

"I thought that he had not lived a single one of his theories: he had worked them with his brain but not with his blood."


What we call 'lip-service' is a very dangerous thing in the life of a Christ follower but, I fear, far too common in the ranks of those who call themselves believers.


Many of us can speak with skill and polished delivery in the pulpit and on the street but have we seen God actually work through us? Do we speak from experience that was powered by God or was it powered by our own energies?


Are our words from experiences ones that have seen us invest our blood?

What does that mean?

It means that we have surrendered everything we are, Luke 9:23, while loving God with all we are, Matthew 9:37-39. Blood is our physical life-without it our bodies will not function. Have we reached the point where we say, "I will follow and obey God no matter the cost"? Have we invested our life's blood-put it on the line?


Many will say this is fanaticism but I say look at the history of the church beginning with Jesus. Jesus paid for our sins with His blood and fought with the idea. Remember when Christ said, "...let this cup pass", and then said, "Thy will be done"?


What does our memory verse say?

Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.


Our blood, sweat, and tears-any other idea of serving God falls short. Our heart, soul, and mind-it all goes together.


Challenge: wake up tomorrow and before you get out of bed say, "Lord, I give you my life, my entire self for this day. I take up my cross and follow You".


The hard times take all we can invest. Life in Christ demands our complete surrender-then we face the hard times in His power and our words are blessed with His truth-not just our ideas.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for speaking without Your permission and truth. Teach me to speak only from Your wisdom.

Wise and forgiving God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen






Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page