top of page

Your Best Cup Of Coffee

‎Friday, ‎November ‎12, ‎2021

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Colossians 1:9

For this reason we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding;

Memory of the Month: Psalm 33:4

4 For the word of the Lord is right and true;

    he is faithful in all he does.

Today's reading:  JEREMIAH 51-52 HEBREWS 9



The Best Cup Of Coffee



Now a lot of folks don't drink coffee but, right now, this is for all who do or don't-just go with it.



I heard a question, "What was your best cup of coffee ever?" So, I ask today, when and where was your best cup of coffee in your life? Or, where were you and what was happening for your greatest cup of tea or glass of milk or just a good drink of water-in your life? Think long before answering.



The best drink of water for me has always been out of the bank of a creek where the fresh springs run out. I remember doing dozer work in a secluded place and finding a spring. Someone many years before had stuck a small pipe into the rock bank and the water ran out through the small pipe where one could catch the water and it was so real and untouched and good.



My best cup of coffee was sitting at the table of our old home place early in the morning and the sun coming up while I looked across the garden's end through the ancient gate to the big pond below. Steam was rising from the water and great numbers of tiny insects could be seen in the mist and bright reflection just above the water's surface. The green, glass cup I held was holding the best plain coffee-out of the old percolator.



 These moments bring statements like, "It just doesn't get any better than this", or, "I wonder what the 'poor' people are doing?"  (This means for those who don't know, "I've got 'it' as good as anyone.)



Great moments in life certainly do not have to be at great expense. Many times, they happen at home. I had one of those moments this morning as I sat silent before God in that place He has set aside for me. It is not hard to describe my greatest cup of coffee. It is impossible to put into words my time in the presence of God-silent-just Him and me. Now I can hear the tick of that cheap plastic clock on the wall and the distant rumble of traffic down on the highway but that was not part of what happened with God...I did not hear a thing-not a physical thing. I did not 'feel' a physical sensation or pain. I just saw His great light and did not want to speak.



This happens nearly everyday. Everytime I empty myself of all pride and earthly connection and focus on Him and His majesty, God makes it happen.



This may or may not be your experience. But I do not want my experience to be yours. I want Yours to be what God makes it. But for some they may not think they can get there, but they can. It takes a lot for some of us to empty and for some, like me, a long time to learn how to get there. God does not mean for it to be hard and He does not want your experience to be one remembered like 'your best cup of coffee', though those times are precious in our memories. Our memories of our Holy Time with God should be as fresh as your last thought. If we are conscious of God, we are in Holy Time. Yes, God wants us to have a time when all the world is shut out and we are silent-but-He also wants our time with Him to be every conscious thought in every waking minute as He sees our every move and thought and is in our every feeling.



 This is the reason Paul wrote this:

19"Speak to one another with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your hearts to the Lord, 20 always giving thanks to God the Father for everything in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.…(Ephesians 5)



A thankful heart is profoundly that-thankful. Thankful is what every believer should be constantly. We are thankful for the presence of God in our lives and the love He has given us from His heart and from each other-thankful that we are free from sin and hate-free to love our enemies-free from guilt-clean in Christ Jesus.



I pray your memories are grand of your 'best cup of coffee'. I also pray your memories of God are current and alive where you don't have to 'look back' but simply look into the face of God.



How precious is the heart of God for us. How precious is His constant presence.



Thank You, Lord, forever, thank You.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Teach me to leave it all and enter Your presence. Forgive me my weaknesses that keep this from happening. I know, without a doubt, You are here in every thought.

Precious, precious Lord of mine,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen








 

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page