top of page

Would You Believe...?

Saturday, March 5, 2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Deuteronomy 6: 6-7

“And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.

Memory of the Month: 2 Corinthians 5:17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

Today's reading: NUMBERS 32-34 MARK 9:30-50



Would You Believe...?



At the hospital bedside of a lady one morning I stood listening to her speak of her family all the while never mentioning her terminal condition. Then she asked, “ Would you believe that Jesus stood at my bedside last night?”. After years of hearing similar stories, I said, ’Sure, tell me more’.



She went on to tell how loving his voice was and how calming. She told where He was and how tall—slight details—how kind His eyes were.



The next night Christ came again and this time she went with Him.



One of the most trusted old preachers that I have known told me, in confidence, that the Lord had revealed to him that he would live long enough to see Christ’s return. I did not know what to think. It was early in my time in the Lord’s ministry and I was long on study but short on experience.



He lived to be almost 100 years old—no, we did not see the return of Christ “together”.



John 14:3-And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.



The old pastor did see Christ return just as he had heard in the scriptures , Luke 2 28 Simeon took him in his arms and praised God, saying: “Sovereign Lord, as you have promised, you may now dismiss your servant in peace. For my eyes have seen your salvation, which you have prepared in the sight of all nations:



No matter what anyone says- Christ said that He will come back for us and He will. Each one of us who are in Christ Jesus will see Him come for us.



And don’t worry-you will know Him-all who had seen Him at their bedsides had never seen Him before-but they all knew Him-immediately.



A lot of great teachers down through the ages have described what it will be like when the Lord returns and ushers in the end of this age. There are many different points of view of how it all will happen and there have been great disagreements but know this: It will happen in His time and in His glory and all who believe God raised Christ from the dead and have said in faith, "Christ is Lord" will see Him come (Romans 10:9,10).

All who have called on the name of the Lord shall be saved(Romans 10:13). All who have confessed their sins to God in Christ will be pure(1 John 1:9).


Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new(2 Corinthians 5:17).



If any of this was unsettling for you to read, it is time to sit in front of God until His peace fills Your heart. Just be truthful with Him-nothing is greater than the grace of our loving Father.



But for now-as long as you have this earthly breath, you still have work to do-so let's get busy!



...because He loves us...



Our Father in Heaven,

Free me from worry. Get me out of my focus. I confess my worldliness. I want Your peace to fill me as I free myself of temporal concern.

Great and merciful, loving God!

In the name of Christ Jesus our Lord,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page