top of page

Where and When?

Tuesday, August 13, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, "I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life."—John 8:12


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading: Psalm 89-90 Romans 14


Where And When?


Psalm 42:2 New International Version

"My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?"


I looked to the Hebrew text to see how this translated literally and then found a translation that came close and this is what I found.


New American Bible

2  "My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


One writer says that this is answered in 2 Corinthians 4:4 (ESV)

4 "In their case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God."


 Our title asked 'where and when' because this verse tells us 'where'.


The 'minds of the unbelievers' have been blinded so the minds of the 'focused' or 'conscious' believers can 'see' the 'image of God' in the glory of Christ. We know we are the temple of the Holy Spirit(1 Corinthians 6:19) and now realize what the Psalmist wrote in


Psalm 27:4

"One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to inquire in his temple."


If we have followed 1 John 1:9 and are clean, I believe we can behold the beauty of the Lord and inquire in His temple (ask in Christ's name whatever we need, John 14:13,14) and this is done, as Jesus taught us, in God's secret place for us(Matthew 6:6).


Matthew 5:8 “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God."


What about the 'when' to pray?


 Philippians 4:6

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer..."


What I hear is "Don't worry about when, Just pray..."


Our new memory verse is Psalm 42:2

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


With all God has done and is doing for us in Christ, we know the answer...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Hallowed be Your matchless name. I long to see Your face in Your temple. Let me see Your glory. Forgive me my selfishness. Lead me away from a sinful focus.

Ever present God of my secret place and Lord of all,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen





Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page