top of page

When We Don't Desire

Tuesday, July 2, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:   Psalm 73:25

"Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you."

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading: JOB 25-27 ACTS 12


When We Don't Desire


One of the things that many of us grew up hearing is that 'feelings don't matter'. We should follow a set of rules-read the Bible everyday, keep a prayer list, journal, go to church, tell people about Jesus, etc.


Then we read verses like Psalm 73:25 that says, "...And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you."


Then we think, "I don't desire God like that-how do I do that?"


What we have to understand first is that this is humanly impossible. In and of ourselves, this will never happen-but-


Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”Matthew 19:26


We read Psalm 37:4 that says, “Delight yourself also in the LORD and He shall give you the desires of your heart.”


How do we make ourselves delight in the Lord? Again, without God, it is impossible.


Delight and desire are emotions. The only way to delight in the Lord is to experience Him as He is.


Luke 12:32 ►“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom."


 Love cannot be explained-it must be experienced.


Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself also in the LORD and He shall give you the desires of your heart.”


If we choose to delight ourselves in the Lord-to seek and find what He has for us each day we live, He will give us the desires of our heart-yes-but what I hear this saying is if we delight ourselves in the Lord, He-God-will become the desire of our heart.


What do we do when we don't desire? Tell God about it-God honors truth-He will show you what desire for Him really is. Tell the Lord you do not delight in Him but are determined to be and God will fill you with that delight.


Without the Spirit-without God-without His divine emotion, this is impossible. But, with God, and our persistence in humility, God is pleased to give us the kingdom-divinely pleased.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

God of all divine emotion, Help me strive to depend on You for my desire for You today. Help me delight in You. Satisfy me-shield me from doubt-I want to feel all You want me to feel. I don't desire You as I should. Fill me with Your desire.

Faithful and tender God,

In the  name of Jesus,

Amen 





Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Kerrville, TX 78028, USA

©2017 by Good Morning, Lord. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page