top of page

When I Awake

‎Friday, ‎July ‎16, ‎2021

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:  Colossians 2:9-10

For in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily; and you are complete in Him, who is the head of all principality and power.

Memory of the month:  Matthew 5:6 “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be  satisfied.

Today's reading: PSALM 16-17 ACTS 20:1-16



When I Awake



(from Psalm 17:14, 15)


King David prays two things in these two verses:


first-David wants to be 'delivered' 'From men of the world, whose portion is in this life'.


second-'I shall behold Your face in righteousness;


I will be satisfied with Your likeness when I awake'.


David sees men who know only this life. They are successful and are satisfied with all the luxuries of this world and are not drawn in the least to righteousness from our Holy God. David asks to be 'delivered from these'-protected from the ways of the men, yes-but also-for God to deliver him(David) from being like them. David wants nothing of their nature in his heart.



This most humble of earthly kings wants only to wake in the morning with the King of his heart on his mind. David wants only God on his mind.



Think on this-really-give this some thought. Have you ever wanted to wake up with one thing on your mind and one thing only-or-has it ever occured to you. Most of us go to bed with the current concerns on our minds and wake up to remember where the worry stopped.



Try it for a week. Set a goal-a very achievable goal-"I will read a little scripture, pray, and have God on my mind as my head hits the pillow. I will think of His love for me as I go to sleep."



The purpose is to awaken with God's love on your mind.



Of all the stuff in this life, what is greater than to have our first thought in the morning to be of God's love for us and His love reaching out through us to our world?



Prayerfully consider this, please.



...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Raise up a desire in me to go to bed thinking of you and to awaken with You on my mind. Forgive me my worrying and let me sleep in Your peace and wake with Your Love.

Merciful and great God!

In the name of Jesus Christ

Amen



コメント


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page