top of page

What Do You See?

‎Saturday, ‎August ‎21, ‎2021

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 42:8 The Lord will command His lovingkindness in the daytime,

And in the night His song shall be with me—

A prayer to the God of my life.

Memory of the Month: Proverbs 15:1-A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.

Today's reading: PSALM 107-109 1 CORINTHIANS 4



What Do You See?


Psalm 108:5 O God, that You would be lifted up above the heavens in the hearts of Your people

until the whole earth knows Your glory.



I see several things in this verse. What do you see?

"Oh God..." I see in these two words the passion of a heart full of desire for God. A heart yearning to be closer with the Eternal God. I see a heart that loves God more than anything-home, family, position, money, friends, reputation.

I see a heart that has spent time thinking on and experiencing the heart of God-someone who has spent much time seeking the kingdom and God's righteousness and now yearns for the whole world to know what can be experienced when one humbles their heart and really loves God.



What do you see?



I see in this verse a heart that loves his neighbor as he loves him/herself as much as self...as much as self. How can I say that? He writes:

"You would be lifted up above the heavens in the hearts of Your people

until the whole earth knows Your glory."

This writer wants for everyone to seek long and hard to know, to experience what it is to to be humbled in the presence of The Eternal and experience just as much as God will allow-and that is a lot-


KIng David has been to the place of God where God has revealed what it means to love all people. The 'whole earth' is all people. This writer yearns for all people to know the blessed place before God-to lift high praise to God so all can desire what he knows.



What do you see?



I see that when David writes, "In the hearts of Your people" that he knows that God's people have a lot to learn about the presence of God and a lot to experience of the Glory of God. He yearns for all brothers and sisters of the faith to seek God and find what is there.

I see that God wanted for us to read this thousands of years later and see a desire that we may not know and in seeing that would be compelled by His Holy Spirit and His love to dive into a deep seeking and yearning to learn these things personally.



What do you see?



"Oh, God..."

I see a heart breaking for the folks in the family of faith and the rest of the world. David's heart broke for everyone not to be like him but to know the degree of his desire for knowing the deep things of God and sharing these things with a lost and dying world.



This is one simple verse out of 31,102 verses in the Bible--What do you see in this statement?

I hope you see-I pray you see the need to be in the word everyday. I pray we all may fear missing just the tiniest thing that the Holy Spirit may have for us each moment of each day. I pray we all dive into the seeking of God and learn little by little the break in the heart of king David and the love for God's people and the lost people of the world-but-feel it the way God wants for us, individually, to know it.



What do you see? Close your eyes-ask God to give you the sight He wants for you to have. Sit, wait, see God's glory...



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Your love is vast and my stubborn heart knows so little. Stop me in the furious world. Teach me how to stand aside, as the world whirls by, and seek your face. Have mercy on me, my sin is always before me.

Sweet and consuming God,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen










Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page