top of page

What Are We Missing?

Saturday, July 6, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:   Psalm 144:15 ►Blessed is the people of whom this is true; blessed is the people whose God is the LORD.

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  

Today's reading: JOB 34-35 ACTS 15:1-21


What Are We Missing?


What have we missed or overlooked in our study?


Nehemiah 8:10 ►Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.”


What I hear in this is that when we enjoy good things, we must know that our enjoyment is only complete when we share what we have with those who do not have. The joy of the Lord is stronger than any pain we experience.


How can I know the joy of the Lord if I don't know the Lord is joyous?


I have wrestled and still wrestle with this. But, we know this:


Psalm 144:15 ►Blessed is the people of whom this is true; blessed is the people whose God is the LORD.


Both times 'blessed' is used here, it is translated as happiness from the Hebrew.


We know this:


1 Timothy 1:11 ►...that conforms to the gospel concerning the glory of the blessed God, which he entrusted to me.


Here, again, blessed is translated 'happy'.


We know this:


The teachers we grew up with(for the vast part), as honorable and wise and God fearing as they were and are, did not/have not taught us about the happiness of God-so it is hard for us to grasp.


It is time we learned. God is happy-perfectly happy-because He is perfect in every way. The enemy does not want us to embrace this truth because he wants us as miserable as he can make us.


What are we missing? We are missing a better view of God-a grander understanding of God's personality.


So, let's dig deeper-meditate longer-feel good about God making us feel good. We must lose guilt over 'feeling good'. Jesus died to set us free from sin so we could enjoy the weightlessness of being forgiven.


Moses prayed and God had made sure it was recorded: "Satisfy us in the morning with Your steadfast love" because God wants us to know that He can completely satisfy us.


Meditate-long and earnestly on this.


How can the Joy of the Lord be my strength if I don't recognize the Joy of the Lord?


Don't miss it anymore.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Lead me to a greater understanding of Your joy so I can hallow Your name in a more complete way. Give me Your bread to battle sin today as I work to forgive. Humble me..forgive me for my evil.

Kind and merciful Father,

In the name of my Lord Jesus,

Amen




Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page