top of page

To Gain Christ

Saturday, February 4 ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 18:1-2 New King James Version

I will love You, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Memory verse: 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Readings: EXODUS 34-35 MATTHEW 22:23-46


That I May Gain Christ


In Philippians 3:8, Paul writes about all the stuff in his life before Christ. He says it is all garbage(it actually translates as 'dung') compared to the 'surpassing greatness' of knowing Christ Jesus.


Go back and look at the passage. Philippians 3:7-11 is one of the most meaningful passages to me in the Bible. It challenges me to the depth of my heart. Why?


All the things that I worked for-all the time invested or wasted-it is gone and will never come around again. It profits me nothing to regret or celebrate the past except for what I have learned about love.


God is that love and He has been there all along and I can see that now. I dragged God through some pretty messy times and He never let go. He has protected me for His purposes. God has brought me through. There are times when He could have smashed me like a bug with good reason but I am still here by His design.


All of you who read this are here by God's design. There is still a great work to be done out there and in here(our hearts).


Knowing Christ is letting go of the world and all it can give us-it does not mean turning lose of all that God taught us 'back then' before we knew Christ. Think about it. God brought you through some hard lessons, but, lessons that we can pass on to help some, maybe, to not repeat mistakes we made.


On this side of salvation, those lessons learned could mean steps to victory for someone struggling.


Yes, the Lord has forgiven us for all we have done wrong and that is great victory and a lot is better left back there but the scripture says God will use all of it to the good for us who are called and being transformed into the image of His son(Jesus; Romans 8:28, 29).


So, be open to the good God will use from your regrets to help grow the ones coming after as well as how He uses it to grow you. Welcome opportunities to 'grab someone from the fire' and do not fear-God has your hand as you reach out to them and He is our shield.(Psalm 28:7)


Yes, I am sorry for the stuff I did but I know I am forgiven and I look ahead to see someone to help who is down and hurting or about to step in the deep mud.


So reach for them in the love of Christ Jesus. Reach from experience and new strength in Christ. He who saves souls is wise...Proverbs 11:30


...that we may gain Christ...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for hiding from my past.

Help me to reach out in love and love folks into Your kingdom.

Merciful and Great God.

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page