top of page

Think Like Jesus

Thursday, October 3, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Father in Heaven, I seek You first-Your peace-Your knowledge and discernment. I take up my cross and follow...In Jesus' name...


Verse of the Day:  1 Peter 1:3


3 May the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ be blessed! On account of his vast mercy, he has given us new birth. You have been born anew into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )


"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading: Isaiah 20-22 Ephesians 6



Think Like Jesus


Psalm 63:1 (ESV)


1  O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.


Think of the most encouraging and positive person that you have ever been around. Think about this person. Remember what they sounded like and how they moved. Do you remember how comfortable you were around them?


This is selfish of me, but I remember folks like this because they made me feel welcome to their reality.


Folks who are real make me want to be part of that. I feel free to relax around them. I don't feel judged-I feel no pressure to be anything but free.


That is the way I believe folks felt around Christ Jesus and that is why we must become more and more like Him. That is the reason that God intends for us to be conformed into the image of His perfect son. That is what the Holy Spirit is all about bringing the fruit of the Spirit to life in each of us.


God says we are welcome to His reality. If we live in His reality, we know He keeps no record of our wrongs(Hebrews 8:12; 1 Corinthians 13)-God holds nothing against us. We are His beloved children.


Why would we not thirst for Him as King David wrote in Psalm 63:1?


This earth is a dry and thirsty land. The people of the land long to be welcomed and unconditionally loved. They long to be set free from the loads they all carry.


We have been chosen to walk like Jesus-to speak like Jesus-to think like Jesus:  


“The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the captives free..." Luke 4:18


Be this person-the one who folks are so comfortable around-be like Jesus. The Holy Spirit does whatever else needs to be done.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,


Your name covers all creation-Your mark is everywhere. Your kingdom is encompassing. Give me Your wisdom and energy today. Forgive my judgmental heart.


Father of all peace and comfort,


In the name of Christ Jesus,


Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page