top of page

Then I Will Rejoice

Tuesday, July 23, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:   Matthew 16:15-16

He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Simon Peter answered and said, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  

Today's reading: PSALM 35-36 ACTS 25


Then I Will Rejoice


Have you ever tried to make a deal with God?

"God, if you do this for me, I will praise you" or "I will do what You want when You help me"?

I have told God, "If you get me out of this, I will never do it again."


Today we continue asking the question, "God, why did you have this particular verse preserved for me?"


The verse is in Psalm, chapter 35 and it comes in the middle of King David's telling God to :

3 Brandish spear and battle-axe

against my pursuers;

let me hear you say,

“I am your salvation.”


David seems to be really frantic in his mind about his enemies and his situation.

Then comes the verse in question:

9 "Then I will be joyful in Adonai,

I will rejoice in his salvation."


David, in a nutshell, says to God, "If you defeat enemies, then will I be joyful in Your salvation."


I have always said that all God wants from us is truth in humility. I believe we should always tell God exactly what is on our minds. But we should never try to bargain with God as David did and I believe that is why God had this part of the Psalms preserved for us.


David continues his wallowing in self pity until Psalm 36 when he begins praising God in verse 6 and then in says:


 (8) they feast on the rich bounty of your house,


and you have them drink from the stream of your delights.


(9) For with you is the fountain of life; in your light we see light.


David was distraught. He moaned about his troubles, When we are down, we should always throw ourselves on God's mercy-say it all-get it all out.


But we should always know that we cannot bargain with God. He does not need anything from us-nothing. He has it all.


The key is in those last 2 phrases: "For with you is the fountain of life; ...in Your light, we see light".


"With You-in Your Light"-There it is. God is never missing. We go missing when we are not consciously 'with Him' and when we are not 'in His light' because of our own sin-David's was wallowing in self pity.


Are you 'in His light' just now?


Are you with Him? He is always with you. He is always with us...


secret place...now...while it is called today.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I see Your light and hallow Your name. Forgive me for being focused on self. Focus my mind on Your bread and being satisfied by You. Lead me away from self pity.

Great God of all power,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page