top of page

The Weight

Tuesday, July 30, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:   Psalm 119:93

I will never forget Your precepts, For by them You have given me life.

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  

Today's reading: Psalm 54-56 Romans 3


The Weight


King David felt the weight of his own sin as we read in Psalm 51:

(6) "... you want truth in the inner person;

so make me know wisdom in my inmost heart.


God wants us to be truthful and David knew how wicked his own heart could be and asked God for His divine wisdom to see through himself-as God always does. We may be able to fool ourselves-to lie to ourselves but God sees through it and so David asked for God's wisdom to see his sin truthfully and confess it.


>Prayer point- Ask God for His wisdom to see yourself completely as He does

Psalm 51:7

"Sprinkle me with hyssop, and I will be clean;

wash me, and I will be whiter than snow."

Sprinkling with a small branch of the hyssop plant was what was done ceremonially to lepers. David is saying that he knows he is as sinful as a leper is considered unclean. He feels the weight of his sin. He wants to feel as 'white as snow'. He is so very weary of his own sin and guilt.


>Prayer point-Lord, teach me how to feel Your freedom and relief in Your forgiveness-(and I hear David crying to forgive himself.) Lord, let me know how to use Your wisdom in forgiving myself and feel Your divine relief.


Psalm 51:8

 (8) "Let me hear the sound of joy and gladness,

so that the bones you crushed can rejoice."


David has asked for forgiveness and wisdom in dealing with his sin and guilt before what he now asks for-joy and gladness-to 'hear' joy and gladness-this means to experience joy and gladness-to be free from this 'bone-crushing' weight(guilt) of his sin.


Psalm 90:14-"satisfy us..."

It is time to tell God the truth-you need his wisdom to deal with the recurring sin in your life; it is time to ask God for his leading away from sin in His wisdom and that you want to feel His divine cleansing-as white as snow. It is time to ask for and believe God will give to you, joy and gladness as He frees you from the weight of sin you have carried so long.


Cast off the weight-for the joy and gladness of God to the praise and glory of Christ Jesus, the Lord.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

How mighty Your name is to me.

I need Your wisdom-forgive me for clinging to this sin and guilt. Satisfy me-the enemy cannot. My choices crush me. Free me.

God of deliverance,

In the name of Christ Jesus

Amen





Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page