top of page

The Way Of Truth

‎Saturday, ‎January ‎28, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: I have chosen the way of truth; Your judgments I have laid before me. I cling to Your testimonies; O Lord, do not put me to shame!—Psalm 119:30-31

Memory verse: 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Readings: EXODUS 19-20 MATTHEW 18:21-35


The Way Of Truth


This scripture jumped off the page at me today-meaning the Holy Spirit stopped me and would not let me go on without looking at what the words said to me:

"I have chosen the way of truth; Your judgments I have laid before me. I cling to Your testimonies; O Lord, do not put me to shame!"—Psalm 119:30-31


The commentators think that the writer of Psalm 119 is a young man for a couple of reasons. He says he has more understanding that all his teachers (119:99) and the aged (119:100) and then asked the question, “How can a young man keep his way pure” (119:9)


His first statement is: "I have chosen the way of truth".

He is making a statement of faith. This is who he have chosen to be.


Can we make such a confident statement of our stand on Christ? In the pain of life such as failure at business or the loss of loved ones or maybe horrible pain from illness-can we from our stubborn faith shout in our souls, "I have chosen Christ Jesus no matter what happens?"


The young writer goes on in Psalm 119,"Your judgements I have laid before me". Judgements are laws or ordinances and if a person chooses Christ Jesus, following the laws of the heart of God means the laws are 'in front' as the filter for living. This is a confession of trust in the heart of God.

"God, You are the way of truth I have chosen and I will live in Your truth."


The writer continues: "I cling to Your testimonies..."

Eight words for God’s instructions in the English Standard Version of the Bible are law, testimonies, ways, precepts, statutes, commandments, rules, and word.


Do we honestly cling to God's word? Is it everything to us? Does it start our day and end our conscious thought as we drift off to sleep? Does God's word overshadow all things 'worldly' in our daily lives? Is God's word the very air we choose to breathe?


Psalm 119 sounds like a mantra this young man repeated as he contemplated heading into something really challenging, maybe as a soldier into battle.


But then come the words: "O Lord, do not put me to shame!"—Psalm 119:31

This reminds us of these passages:

Isaiah 50:7

7 Because the Sovereign Lord helps me,

I will not be disgraced.

Therefore have I set my face like flint,

and I know I will not be put to shame.

Isaiah 45:17 Israel has been saved by the Lord

With an everlasting salvation; You will not be put to shame or humiliation To all eternity.


Many of us might sound like the writer of Psalm 119 pleading to not suffer shame in the beginning of our Christian walk. But somewhere in our growth we must trust God in ever increasing measure to where we reach the point we can say:

"Because I have chosen the way of truth, I will never be put to shame-because Christ Jesus is my Lord, I have set my face like a rock and will not let the enemy's accusations shame me."


Life does not have to be as hard as we make it. Jesus died so those that love Him can lift up our heads in the midst of any trial, pain, or hardship because we know that...

...God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19


God has a place for you to stand in faith with full assurance. Are you there? What are you willing to do to get there? The Holy Spirit is here to guide you. Hold His hand and go.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Have mercy on me and forgive me my weak faith. I reach for Your hand and trust You for all I need.

Ever abiding friend and Lord,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page