top of page

The Reason For The Difference

Wednesday, ‎September 13, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: O God, You are my God; early will I seek You; my soul thirsts for You; my flesh longs for You in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water.—Psalm 63:1

Memory verse: Philippians 4:8 ►Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Today's reading: PROVERBS 16-18 2 CORINTHIANS 6


The Reason for our 'Difference'


God made us all unique. When we have a relationship with any other human being that relationship is unique. No one else can 'know' that person in the same way-no one. That means that you have a relationship with all those you know that no one else in the world can have. They might want what you have but cannot have it. No matter how much anyone tries they cannot have your relationships. They cannot be you and know someone with your heart and mind.


C.S. Lewis wrote that if God did not have a reason for all the differences in people that He creates, He could have made only one soul. But God's plan was that He knows each of us individually and loves us as He offers His life to us.


Think about someone in your family that you love very much, alive or gone, and think of why your love for them is so great. When I ask a family to help me prepare for the memorial of their loved one, I ask them to tell me what they will miss the most. The most given answer:"Just them". It may not be what I wanted but it is really all I need to hear.


God simply wants us. He does not want us dressed up and shined. He does not want us to bring Him great treasure. He owns it all, anyway. He does not want us to make our visit with Him a lavish event. God just wants us.


I remember big family reunions at Finch Park and the people who singled me out in the middle of all the other children. Those were the people I looked for year after year. Those who looked me in the eye and with that look made me feel as if I were the only child there.


That one-on-one and eye-to-eye contact that no one else has with you and another person is a precious thing that has no price. It may be a friend you don't see but twice a year. But, when you do you feel like you saw them yesterday.


God wants us to look Him in the eye everyday because we walk with Him constantly because He loves us each as much as anyone else. But, when we do not; when we walk away into the world to sin God patiently waits or 'long-suffers' us to use a King James term. I believe God feels the pain of our absence. He grieves for us. When we return in humility and confession, God wipes it all clean and it feels like it was just a minute...


What are you waiting for? Go to Him in that place where God sees you eye-to-eye and know that He made you different so He could love you like no one else.


And you-you love God the way no one else can. Let it be what God wants it to be. As you listen quietly, He will reveal it all a little at a time.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Your ways are so far above my understanding so thank You for Your patience with me. Forgive me my reluctance. I want to see You face to face.

Loving and gracious Father and God,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page