top of page

The Life I Live Now

‎Monday, ‎November ‎15, ‎2021

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 119:143

Trouble and anguish have overtaken me, Yet Your commandments are my delights.

Memory of the Month: Psalm 33:4

4 For the word of the Lord is right and true;

    he is faithful in all he does.

Today's reading: EZEKIEL 1-2 HEBREWS 11:1-19



The Life I Live Now



I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.—Galatians 2:20



Sit down and tell yourself about your life. Be completely honest about how much you think of yourself whether too highly or too little. Then, you'll want to take that conversation to the Lord God.



Do you have great self confidence? If believing in yourself is a focused effort of your life-if you read self-improvement or listen to it constantly or if you believe you can do anything better than anyone else; or if you think you can never be better than you are, take that conversation before the Lord.



Are you one of those who believe they don't need anyone else-that you are sufficient in yourself? Do you believe your money or career can sustain you the rest of your life, take this to God.



Do you look for ways to have your name spoken in large company for the thrill of it? Do you work constantly for recognition? God needs to hear this from you.



God wants you to tell him how you feel about yourself and what you do to protect this mindset.



A.W. Tozer wrote:

"Self is the opaque veil that hides the face of God from us. It can be removed only in spiritual experience, never by mere instruction. We may as well try to instruct leprosy out of our system. There must be a work of God in destruction before we are free. We must invite the cross to do its deadly work within us. We must bring our self-sins to the cross for judgment." The Pursuit of God, 43-44.



In Galatians 2:20, Paul says:

"...the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God..."



If the life you live now is anything but what Paul describes, it is sin plain and simple.

In Romans 14:23 Paul also says:

"...For whatever does not proceed from faith is sin."



These kinds of harsh statements from someone like me are hard to swallow for some. This is where some actually draw a line in their lives. This seems way out there in fanaticism. If it seems too hard to do, you need to talk to God about it. If you won't listen to me, that is because I am not an authority on anything but my own sin. Yes, I know what God says to me and how great it is for me to be in His presence and how hard it is to admit my own stuff to Him, but this cannot be taught. It has to be learned.



For some this is just another trial, a challenge, to seek God's face and learn. To some, it may pierce their heart but they will just walk away and have to learn through a lot of pain.



Everyday is trial after trial. But remember what Paul went through. His pain was so great he asked God to take it away and God's word to Paul was, "My strength is sufficient''.



2 Corinthians 12:8-10

8 Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.



Paul says 'he pleaded with the Lord'. Whatever 'it' was, it was severe enough for Paul to plead with God for its removal.



How strong do you want your faith in Christ Jesus to be? Strong enough to plead for it?



Paul said, "I die daily". 1 Corinthians 15:31

Again, this cannot be taught, it has to be learned.


 Jesus said, "“Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me." Luke 9:23

This must be experienced by each individual-must be.



Take your 'self' to the cross and nail it up-nail yourself up-die to self. Figure it out for yourself. Ask The Lord Jesus to teach you.



He knows how to be nailed on a cross...for you to learn how.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

I know so little except my own sin. Forgive me and show me how to die everyday, all day, to self and sin. Show me how to remove my focus from me.

Great God of all patience and kindness,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen






Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page