top of page

The Good Things

Sunday, ‎April ‎2, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Matthew 20: 17-19 New King James Version

Now Jesus, going up to Jerusalem, took the twelve disciples aside on the road and said to them, “Behold, we are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of Man will be betrayed to the chief priests and to the scribes; and they will condemn Him to death, and deliver Him to the Gentiles to mock and to scourge and to crucify. And the third day He will rise again.

Memory of the Month: John 10:27-28

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: JUDGES 16-18 LUKE 7:1-30


The Good Things


Someone in your life has been an influential teacher and there may have been many to whom you looked for sound instruction. But some, maybe not so good? How do we know? And how do we get rid of the bad stuff we heard and 'kept in our minds' from early on in our lives?


Jesus said, "The student is not above the teacher, but everyone who is fully trained will be like their teacher", Luke 6:40


The question is not the identity of the righteous Teacher; that would be Jesus. But much of what governs our thinking or that which has molded our minds could have come from questionable sources-could have-maybe not but could have.


I respect and love my parents but at some point, as we have said before, we have to be realistic and truthful and admit that they did not do everything right. I certainly have not done everything right as a parent.


As a teacher, there are things that I have had to re-think as I have learned over the years and I have to admit wrong in many areas of my early thinking.


But how do we get the 'wrong' stuff out?


We must really think about what we hear. We must guard our hearts, (Proverbs 4:23 - Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.) The real Lordship of Christ in our lives is the barrier to keep new bad stuff out and it is the only way to get the 'bad' stuff out that is already there. The Lord reveals wrong teaching we have learned and at that point we must take it captive-lock it up and refuse to go back there.


Philippians 4:8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable--if anything is excellent or praiseworthy--think about such things.


This must be spiritually worked out-we must spiritually exercise. We are never too old or too clever or too intellectual to escape the need for spiritual growth; repetition of truth, as habit, is essential. Repetition of truth-study of scripture- reading, memorization- these are mainstays of our faith.


When a mosquito lands on your arm, you swat it. But if there are many, we learn to prepare with repellent. Jesus spoke scripture to the enemy when he was tempted. When your mind is bombarded with 'wrong'- reach for the righteous-reach for the word of God-depend on His constant strength.


The Holy Spirit is your constant companion. He hears all your thoughts and knows all your heart. Don't be ashamed-be real-be truthful-be consistent-and remember:

Psalm 62:7 My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.


...because He loves us.


Father in Heaven,

Sovereign Lord,

Forgive me for being stubborn about what I learned in my early life.

Holy Spirit train my mind as I surrender each day to try every thing by the scripture and by Your wisdom. I never want to stop learning.

Great God of Wisdom!

In Jesus' name

Amen



Comentarios


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page