top of page

Talk To God

‎Saturday, ‎January ‎1, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: 2 Corinthians 5:17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

Memory of the Month: 2 Corinthians 5:17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

Today's reading: GENESIS 1-3 MATTHEW 1



Talk to God



If you read the daily Bible reading marked 'Today's reading' everyday, you will read through the Bible in one year. And if you have been following the reading, we just finished reading the entire Bible. I want to congratulate all who have done this and encourage you to continue. If you wish to start and have never done it before, don't make this a new year's resolution. I have never gotten into that. Make it a commitment before the Lord. Yes, promise God you will make it happen no matter what. It takes discipline which is what walking as Jesus walked is all about. But don't be guilt ridden about it. If you miss a day, just find time to make it up and do it. Don't waste energy on guilt-it is the devil's plan for you. God's plan is a life of light and hope.



Many know that I have written these devotionals since 2010 and I will not lie and say I have read the entire Bible eleven times. But God challenged me with a way to 'practice what I preach with proof' four years ago. This was the challenge:

I have a phone and my phone has a recorder app. I have all those translations on the site I use on my computer. (If I did not have those, I have many hard copies of the Holy Bible.) I do not have, however, an excuse not to use all three to help prove to myself that I can develop the discipline God wants me to have. Every January, I start recording a new translation. Yesterday, I finished my fourth translation and today started recording the 'International Children's Bible'.



I had finished the first recording in Genesis and Matthew this morning and the phone rang. It was for 'Facetime' and I answered and the beautiful face I saw was my 'almost two year old' granddaughter. I do not believe in coincidences. I believe God was showing me the reason He had led me to record a translation for children.



I want to challenge us all to a life of discipline as we follow Christ Jesus. This is what this has been about for the past eleven years and indeed for the thirty-seven years of my ministry. Nothing will suffice-nothing can replace a life of discipline if we are serious about this life in Christ.



Daily time in the Holy Scriptures; meditation on God and His glory; journaling or recording somehow what you experience in God's presence; prayer, a time of conversation with God where you present your concerns, with thanksgiving.

Philippians 4:6 ►Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

(Petition or supplication or entreat means to humbly request something.)



Prayer, simply put, is talking to God. I want to challenge us all to change the way we think about prayer. I have said thousands of times, "I will pray for You". How different would it be if I said, "I will talk to God about you and your needs". I might sound really odd to some, but to myself, I have made a real commitment to actually do what I have said. I must talk to God...



Think about saying this:"I will talk to God about it..." or I will talk with God about your pain"-"I will talk to God about that child or your mother or your job..."



This puts an extra emphasis on my being truthful. If I say I will talk to God, I must talk to God.



Challenge yourself to be truthful about the life you have chosen to live in Christ-but not in the form of a 'new year's resolution'-do it now and do it everyday.



Talk to God about it. He is faithful in all He does.

Psalm 33:4

4 For the word of the Lord is right and true;

he is faithful in all he does.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for not keeping promises. Teach me the serious nature of a commitment and have mercy on me.

Merciful and patient and all powerful God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Kerrville, TX 78028, USA

©2017 by Good Morning, Lord. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page