top of page

Stand Firm(While Moving)

Thursday, September 5, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:  Matthew 28:18-20

18 So he came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth is given to me. 19 So go and make followers of all people in the world. Baptize them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach them to obey everything that I have told you to do. You can be sure that I will be with you always. I will continue with you until the end of time.”


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading:   Psalm 148-150 1 Corinthians 15:29-58


Stand Firm(While Moving)

In 1 Corinthians 15, Paul writes in verse 34: "There are some people who lack knowledge of God — I say this to your shame."


Lacking 'knowledge of God' is ignorance of Him and ignorance is shame. But knowing God, or intimate knowledge of God, is knowing what God is like in secret. When we, like Jesus, go to lonely places to pray. When we make desperate efforts to be with God alone-away from worldy concerns-this is when we come to really know God. So, flee ignorance-run to God.


What follows is Paul talking about the beauty of God's creation and the beauty of what will be our resurrection body. What God will give us cannot be compared to what we have when death is finally destroyed by, in verse 57, God's giving us His victory through Christ Jesus.


In verse 58, Paul says,

"So, my dear brothers, stand firm and immovable, always doing the Lord’s work as vigorously as you can, knowing that united with the Lord your efforts are not in vain.



The knowledge of God, where we began, or being intimately united with Him, gives us divine confidence to stand firm in our resolve as we are vigorously doing the Lord's work. Being intimately united with God gives us power in the Holy Spirit to look forward to what God will do for us while doing battle in this perishing world.


In Christ Jesus, stand firm-while always moving and being moved by His power through trusting Him to complete all for His Glory.


Stand firm-while firmly moving.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I want to know You and Your name better-deeply-as You are known in Heaven. Give me Your sustaining bread for today. Forgive me for wasting the time I could be with You. Lead me away from evil wasting and poor judgement.

Precious and faithful God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page