top of page

Seek My Face


‎Saturday, ‎April ‎10, ‎2021

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Romans 5:6-8

For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Memory of the month:  And they said to one another, "Did not our heart burn within us while He talked with us on the road, and while He opened the Scriptures to us?" —Luke 24:32

Today's reading: 1 SAMUEL 15-16 LUKE 10:25-42



Seek My Face



There is a verse that seems to come up quite often, and rightly so, but I wonder how many know the verse that comes before it. Here is the verse:


14 if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.


What comes just before this?


13 “When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command locusts to devour the land or send a plague among my people, 2 Chronicles 7:13-14.



I believe God still causes things to happen to get our attention. You may think that is absurd and that I am antiquated in my thinking and that may be. But I have a question for you:


"What does it mean to seek God's face?" Is this also antiquated?



Seeking God will never be antiquated or out-dated. The world may speak against it. Your heart may turn against it. You may think it a very uncomfortable idea deep in your heart.



YOU WOULD BE WRONG-no apologies, but you have a free will and, I suppose, the right to be wrong.



Nothing-no amount of anything-will ever take the place of seeking the face of God.



Okay-what does it mean? This is my best effort to explain seeking God's face:


To seek is to desire, to turn the direction of thought and will and affection to God and to accept the truth that the ordering of our daily lives means that nothing comes between us and the reality of what we do see when we focus on Him. They who seek God by desire, by directing thought and will and love to Him, and let that desire run their daily lives, are those who seek God's face.



Will you ever, literally see God's face? I cannot answer for you...but if you really seek His face, you will never be disappointed. You will see and hear what God wants you to see, hear, and learn.



Now, It is time for us to get on with seeking God's face and step out of our narcissism-yes, we are too involved with ourselves; there are people in need and God has a message for us to deliver to them.



Turn to God and repent-or-return to God and repent-Turn your focus toward God and tell Him you are sorry for your sin of paying more attention to yourself and other 'stuff' than to Him, His kingdom, and His righteousness. We should be realizing right now just how much time we have always had on our hands-right now we have plenty of time to either ignore God more completely than ever-or have the best come to Jesus meeting of our lives.



Do not waste your idleness. The enemy is never idle. He is at work destroying something around you that can easily be thwarted by prayer and meditation. How about that? Prayer and meditation means you are seeking God's face. Yes, it is that plain. It may not be easy at first, but tell God and He will change your attitude.



Psalm 30:11 You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy,



What on earth could be worth missing this?



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,


I am in the way-my mind, myself, my selfishness-I want You directly in my way...


Father of great mercy and power!


In the name of Jesus,


Amen








Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page