top of page

Realign

‎Friday, ‎April ‎30, ‎2021

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Ephesians 4:15

but, speaking the truth in love, may grow up in all things into Him who is the head—Christ—

Memory of the month:  And they said to one another, "Did not our heart burn within us while He talked with us on the road, and while He opened the Scriptures to us?" —Luke 24:32

Today's reading: 1 KINGS 8-9 LUKE 21:1-19



To Realign



Years ago, at summer camp for boys, we had men who would go down by the river in the brush and grass and trees and mark out a course. The boys would be paired up and given instructions and bearings and a compass. They were to find one little flag out there somewhere but it could not be found unless you followed the instructions down to the closest degree in the bearings. No satellites, no cell phones-just a compass was used. Only a few ever found the flag. So many had their own ideas of how it was to be done that not many finished.



It is easy to lose your bearings in this world of so many 'kinds' of churches and choices. So how do we do it? How do we keep our bearings on Christ Jesus when so many are convinced that they alone have the answers and have so many following them?



What was God's original design for the Church of Jesus Christ-the Body of Jesus Christ?



First, think about this: Jesus did not hang on that cross so we could be led astray or confused. He knew it would be easy for some to be confused by big numbers and power and fancy things, so, He gave very clear orders.

Matthew 28:19-20: “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything that I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”



First is last. Jesus is always your partner as you find your way. He will never leave you. The problem is we like to argue that we have a better plan-this is called sin-plain and simple. When we follow His plan, we are on the right trail. He did not say it would be easy...

Matthew 7:13 “Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. 14 For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few."

John 10:9 ►I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved. They will come in and go out, and find pasture.



Paul said, "But you, keep your head in all situations, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry". 2 Timothy 4:5

Jesus said, "Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit..."



I hear it often-"I can't do that..." But, yes, you can. We do not have to follow the orders of an organization to do this work.  The word "euaggelistori"(evangelism) means the one who proclaims the glad tidings.

You do not have to be Billy Graham. He would be the first to tell you that his big crusades were simply first contact. When the people get back home, they must be loved by the folks who know Jesus-simply loved. If you cannot speak-you can still love. The words cannot be your own-Jesus will make His words your own. We simply must trust and be willing to love them all.

"teaching them to obey everything that I have commanded you."


Matthew 22:37 Jesus replied: “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself."



We learn by Jesus' example and Jesus will lead us to love by His example and the world around us will learn from His profound love in our lives.



His road is narrow and hard if we continue to argue about directions. But Jesus also said,

28 "Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30



If you have lost your bearings to the sin of listening to so many voices, stop and ask God to clear your heart and mind and center you back up. He will not fail you. Look God straight in the face and confess, "Lord, I have lost my way by my own bad choices-lead me in the way everlasting".



King David wrote:

23"Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. 24See if there is any offensive way in me; lead me in the way everlasting.…"Psalm 139



God will never turn away the humble, confessing heart-never.



Realign with God in Christ.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

I am so confused. My courage and faith are weak. I confess I have sinned in following the wrong voices. Lead me in Your way everlasting.

Long-suffering and forgiving God of mercy!

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen







Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page