top of page

Practice Giving God Glory

Tuesday, June 4, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day: Proverbs 15:1

A soft answer turns away wrath, But a harsh word stirs up anger.


Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading: 2 CHRONICLES 23-24 JOHN 15


Practice Giving God Glory


When we are faced with the hardest of times, how can we see our faith grow stronger instead of falling into doubt.


Times of severe illness or times of familial loss are the most challenging of times for most of us  but we can find weapons in scripture for shoring up and building our faith if we are persistent.


Abraham of the old testament was over 100 years old when God made him promises(that were all fulfilled) that to the worldly mind were impossible. Paul said this about Abraham:


Romans 4:20,21-"Yet he did not waver through unbelief at the promise of God, but was strengthened in faith, having given glory to God,"


"...having given glory to God"-Abraham did not stop and fall into depression. He gave God glory and by that strengthened his faith-his faith grew as he glorified God.


We can see a challenge to us here. Practice finding ways to praise God. Find verses that praise God and read them out loud to Him.


Psalm 150:1-6

Praise the Lord!

Praise God in His sanctuary;

Praise Him in His mighty expanse.

Praise Him for His mighty deeds;

Praise Him according to His excellent greatness...


Some will say, "Praise is not real unless it is spontaneous"-maybe for some but here is the question:


"If I want to praise God and because of that I read Him praises, does that not make my praise real?"


If I have cancer and I practice reading or quoting praise to God, it is my desire to praise God that praises Him and God wants that desire in me.


Put your desire to praise God to work strengthening your faith.


Romans 4:20,21 ,to me, is an implied promise: "If I praise God, God will grow my faith and God will increase my desire to praise Him."


Practice praise-practice!


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I am weak and the challenges are great. But You, Oh God, are greater than all of it. Mighty and wonderful master of all.

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page