top of page

Peace -Be Strong

Saturday, May 4,2024


  Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day: Philippians 4:6-7

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.


Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading: 1 KINGS 19-20 LUKE 23:1-25


Peace-Be Strong


The old, six-fingered black hands lifted each brick with ease and practice and placed the mortar on each as the hulking figure built up the man-hole around him. In those days man holes were all built one brick at a time in a large hole in the ground that straddled a pipeline. I had never seen six fingers on a man's hand before and I was a small boy-so I stood in awe with my hands on my knees as I peered down in amazement that all the fingers worked.


It would be years until I thought about the man who had all those fingers. He was 6'6''. He was broad at the shoulders with a barrel chest but what made him so great was the way he spoke. He took pride in his work, you could tell, but his voice was deep and happy. He had not a bad word to say about anything. He was not offended at my asking about his extra fingers; he laughed and said he hadn't given it much thought for a while.


His demeanor was of peace. He bore no ill will to any one man or his station in life. He was too old, he said(which is what a lot of old guys say), for this work but he said he still enjoyed it. He would laugh and then say how the 'Good Lord' had blessed him.


This is another of the impressions I have carried all my life that has had something to do with the man I have become. I have always been drawn to the large man who was peaceful and happy and have always embraced joy and peace.


To be a special person who has worked hard all their life and is still joyful and peaceful doing the same thing? The presence of the Lord in a person's heart makes this a reality. Is the Lord this real to you?


Live in be peace. He came that your joy may be full. John15:11


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me, again, for not be conscious fo You all the time. Help me to train my attention on You alone.

Gracious God of all peace,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page