top of page

One Step Step

‎Saturday, ‎December ‎25, ‎2021

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Isaiah 9:6

For unto us a Child is born, Unto us a Son is given; And the government will be upon His shoulder. And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

Memory of the Month: Psalm 33:4

4 For the word of the Lord is right and true;

he is faithful in all he does.

Today's reading: ZEPHANIAH 1-3 REVELATION 16



One Step



John 1:12 But to all who did receive Him, to those who believed in His name, He gave the right to become children of God — 13children born not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but born of God.


It was some of the best farmland in the entire country-the blackland north and east of Dallas now covered with concrete and armpits...


It was 1969 in the spring when the wheat was maturing but still green as I walked across the field to the dirt road where I would be picked up by another worker. The tall, young wheat tangled around my boots and I went down as gently as a large tuna flops on the deck of a boat. But instead of jumping up-(yes, jumping and I were used in the same sentence in those days)-I rolled over and looked up and stopped.


It was around 1 p.m., probably 75 degrees, and clear. My world at that point was the sun and tall, waving, green wheat-that is all I could see-only the handiwork of God.


It was a 'kairos' moment-a God moment-one of those where God stops the world and grabs your heart and soul and says, "Here it is, go on, take it; keep it with you always".


A reminder of God's love for us-of His tender mercies-of the goodness and mercy that follows us all the days of our lives. What a great redeemer we have!


My prayers and wishes for you all on this Christmas day is that you do not miss the 'kairos moments' today.


The voices of family and friends-the smell of a child's hair-laughter-the touch of care and love-the memory of kairos moments past-visions of a golden street to come.



I had a Kairos moment yesterday. I had struggled for an hour in physical therapy to walk seventy-two feet-two inches at a time. The pain was so bad that I did not realize until I was done that there were tears running down both sides of my face-and then I was really feeling sorry for myself. Then, from my wheelchair, I saw a man stand up with two others helping him to his walker and take his first step after surgery. He struggled to get up-but he made it. He really struggled to take that one step-it was all he could do to do one step...everybody cheered him-his surgery had been to amputate his right leg. There really are no words to express how small I felt at that moment. I had made over 400 steps to go 72 feet and was not rejoicing like the man who had taken only one. This is a moment I will never forget.



The Lord wants us, as His children, to realize the miraculous power in one single step-in every step-every second we have to walk as Jesus walked-one step at a time.


Wrap your heart and mind and soul around all that God gives...

...and have a tender kairos Christmas.



Thank You Lord for being our Lord and love.



I love you all.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Forgive me when I am not thankful-Thankful for Your breath of life-thankful that nothing can pull me and all believers from Your mighty hand-thankful that You forgive and never bring up my past-thankful for the endless love that flows to me from Your heart and through me by Your plan. Thank You for those I love by Your heart and those who love me in spite of my dark side. Thank You for this sweet life by Your grace. May I obey when You reach through me to give someone a word of grace. Thank You for the pain You endured on my account on the cross. Thank You for being my Lord.

Gracious and loving God.

In the precious name of Christ,

Amen





Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page