top of page

On Praise

Sunday, ‎October ‎16, ‎2022

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 34:7 The angel of the Lord encamps all around those who fear Him, And delivers them.

Memory verse: “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9).

Today's reading: ISAIAH 47-49 1 THESSALONIANS 4


On Praise


What do the words from the model prayer(Lord's prayer)-'hallowed be thy name'- mean to you?


Think on that for a minute: 'hallowed be thy name'.


Very simply, hallow means to 'honor as holy'. Holy means sacred and divine, so hallowed be thy name means that as we speak to God we honor Him as sacred and divine-that every time we think of God, His name, we hold His name in honor as the only divine one-ever.


The only divine one wants our attention and does not want us to hold anything or anyone above Him. Jesus put this clause in the model prayer for a reason. We are to always honor the name of God-first-above everything.


This can be an awkward spot for many but it should not be. My saying this does not make it happen. I know how wierd it has felt to try to manufacture praise just because someone on this earth says I should praise God. I know how guilty I have felt to know I should praise and just did not feel it.


Proverbs 27:21- and a man is tested by his praise.”


So, what do I do? If I do not feel it, how do I get to the place where I just praise God naturally? Look back-where we are from or where we could be and be thankful. God is great all the time-not just when we feel good about Him.


Being in awe of God comes when we spend time-real effort-meditating on Him--


--not media-tating -- but with the world shut out completely. Just try it. Read Ephesians 1:3-14


Tell God you really want the desire to learn how to praise Him. Be truthful-maybe right now it is, 'I don't feel like praising-it seems awkward-and I know I should but I want it to be real...'


Just tell God the truth.


Learn-ask-knock-ask-


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I am sorry I don't feel like praising You like the Bible says but I want to learn and I want it to be real and not contrived. Give me the real desire and I will not hold back.

Great God of power and mercy!

In the name of Jesus Christ,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page