top of page

On Being Chief

Friday, ‎April ‎14, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: 1 Corinthians 15:1, 3-4

Moreover, brethren, I declare to you the gospel which I preached to you, which also you received and in which you stand, For I delivered to you first of all that which I also received: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, and that He was buried, and that He rose again the third day according to the Scriptures,

Memory of the Month: John 10:27-28

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: 1 SAMUEL 25-26 LUKE 12:32-59


On Being Chief


My childhood was spent somewhere in the dirt. I had grandparents who were all farmers and my Dad was a dirt man. We always had a pile of dirt or sand in a stockpile and there was a neverending 'king-of-the-mountain' fight going on. Black eyes, bruises, cuts, and torn clothing were a constant with which my Irish mother dealt on a daily basis. We were just being kids from the country. We tore up our clothes and Mama tore up the seat of our pants.


I still believe that children don't go away with age. I think we cover that child with physical growth and learned-adult, behavior-but the child is still in there-alive and active. The urge of testosterone-driven men is pretty much the same. Down deep they still want to be king of the mountain and claw and fight to be the best all their lives.


A man named Saul studied and clawed to be the best at persecuting Christians until Jesus blasted him off his horse one day. From that time on, 'Paul', called himself the chief of sinners.


1 Timothy 1:15 This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.


Our reasoning today is intercessory prayer-praying for others.

Therefore confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another, so that you may be healed. The prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective. James 5:15-16


Dietrich Boenhoffer wrote: "Offering intercessory prayer means nothing other than Christians bringing one another into the presence of God, seeing each other under the cross of Jesus as poor human beings and sinners in need of grace. Then, everything about other people that repels me falls away. Then I see them in all their need, hardship, and distress. Their need and their sin become so heavy and oppressive to me that I feel as if they were my own...


King of the mountain or chief of sinners-for most of us-men or women-it is one in the same. It is hard to be king of anything without the sin. Even if you are one of those who minds their own business and lives a quiet, successful life-you are 'king of your own castle'-the lord of your own life.


The point of all this is to say again, "You without sin cast the first stone". We are all chief of our own sin. No pride in that when you are in the presence of God.


So, we pray this first, "God forgive me as I forgive..."


We confess our own sin before God and then pray for those on our list. Yes, put the ones who trouble you most at the top. Whatever it is about them-cannot stay in your mind in God's presence-"As I forgive them".


Being chief does not fly in God's presence. He is Lord of all and we are not unless we are trying to be God.


Being king of the mountain...means you are king of a dirt pile? Yes-always has been-always will be-king of dirt.


In God's kingdom, we are children of the King who know we are no better than anyone else.


Romans 12:3 ►For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.


We are simply and gloriously forgiven in Christ. This is the news we carry for all others-all of them. The ones we do not like-yes-the Lord of all says, yes, even them-especially them.


...because He loves us...and them...


Father in Heaven.

Forgive me my anger and malice for my enemies. I must long to forgive them.

You, alone are Lord and King.

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page