top of page

Not Yet Perfect

Saturday, October 19,2024


Good morning, Lord

Father in Heaven, I seek You first-Your peace-Your knowledge and discernment. I take up my cross and follow...In Jesus' name...

Verse of the Day:  Psalm 37:4

4 Delight yourself in the Lord,

    and he will give you the desires of your heart.


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading:  Isaiah 59-61 2 Thessalonians 3

Not Yet Perfect

(You will not be perfect in this life-reach for Christ)

Perfectionism-A propensity for being displeased with anything that is not perfect or does not meet extremely high standards.


A belief in certain religions that moral or spiritual perfection can be achieved before the soul has passed into the afterlife

In Christ, we have been acquitted-free from the guilt of sin-this is what Paul calls 'justified'.

Romans 5:1 "Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ."

God identifies us in Christ, as perfectly clean of all sin-justified having peace with God.

Once for all eternity, we are 'justified' in Christ-that cannot be done more perfectly than what Christ has done.

Once for all, the power the enemy had over us before Christ is broken. We may stumble in sin but the power to hold us captive in sin has forever been destroyed by Christ over and in our lives.

Once for all, we have been enabled to have victory over our sin.

There are three 'alreadys'-'once for alls'-perfectly done in Christ.

The 'not yet' is this: perfection. Paul tells us:

" Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me."(Philippians 3:12)

"Do not deceive yourselves. If any of you think you are wise by the standards of this age, you should become “fools” so that you may become wise."(1 Corinthians 3:18)

Christ has perfectly taken hold of us. In this life, we press on reaching for His wisdom and for His perfection-knowing perfection belongs not to the 'perishable'(1 Corinthians 15:53).

1 Corinthians 1:8

"Who will sustain you to the end, guiltless in the day of our Lord Jesus Christ."

This is our sanctification-our being conformed into the image of Christ(Romans 8:29). The Holy Spirit sustains us-even as we slip into sin-He pulls us back to repentance and we press on.

Don't worry over your own perfection-glory in His perfection. Strive to become more like Jesus and be satisfied with His perfection-by His perfection-with His steadfast love.

"Satisfy us in the morning with Your steadfast love that we may rejoice and be glad all our days." Psalm 90:14

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven,

Your perfect name is overwhelming. I want to see Your kingdom power in my life-in the life of Your people. Satisfy me with today's bread and forgive me my arrogance. Lead me away from judgement.

Great God of perfect justification,

In the name of Christ Jesus my Lord,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page