top of page

Lordship

Friday, August 30, 2024

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Galatians 3:28

28 Now, in Christ, it doesn’t matter if you are a Jew or a Greek, a slave or free, male or female. You are all the same in Christ Jesus.

Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"

Today's reading: Psalm 132-134 1 Corinthians 11:17-34


Lordship And Submissive Humility

King David vowed to the Lord:

3 “I will not enter my house

or get into my bed,

4 I will not give sleep to my eyes

or slumber to my eyelids,

5 until I find a place for the Lord,

a dwelling place for the Mighty One of Jacob.”(Psalm 132)


Lordship -what does it really mean to me?

To me, it means who really makes the decisions-who is in charge of my life. We don't use the word 'Lord' like it was used originally. A 'lord' was the owner of a large piece of land that usually had a tiny to large sized settlement and the landlord literally had the power of life and death over everyone on his land. He usually was related to royalty and so his power came from the throne of the king.

Folks are called landlords these days who own rental property but it has no bearing on a real 'Lord' from royal blood.

Acts 2:36-"Let all the house of Israel therefore know for certain that God has made him both Lord and Christ, this Jesus whom you crucified.”

Psalm 132:5 uses the word 'Lord' but the Hebrew translates this word: the 'existing one'-Jehovah-the proper name of God-usually unspoken. Even the Complete Jewish Bible uses the word Lord for God.

The point is that the Biblical term 'Lord' is most serious. When someone declares that Jesus is Lord, it means they recognize Him as the Son of God and Master of their lives.

Revelation 1:18 reads; "...the Living One. I was dead, and behold, now I am alive forever and ever! And I hold the keys of Death and of Hades."

King David said that he would not sleep until he found a place for the Lord.

Why did God have this recorded for us-for you? How determined are you to 'find a place'-the place-the secret place the Lord has for you.

We are the temple of God(1 Corinthians 3:16). Why are 'high places' a problem for us?

I can only speak for myself. It is a Lordship problem. It is a God consciousness problem. I see, I want, I sin-I fall to the sin living in me. What is the answer?(Romans 7:17-20)

Then Paul says in Romans 7:24 "What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? 25 Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!"

Lordship means our continuing dependence on The Lord Jesus Christ.

Jesus on the throne of our lives-not lust-not family anger-not money-nothing.

Keep the Lord the main thing.

Our Lord always welcomes a penitent heart and rewards the faithful.

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven,

Name above all names, great God and Lord of all, bring the reality of Heavenly reasoning to my mind. Give me what I need from Your heart and forgive me my sins.

Patient and awesome God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comentarios


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page