top of page

Let Me See

Wednesday, ‎September ‎14, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Romans 5:12 Therefore, just as through one man sin entered the world, and death through sin, and thus death spread to all men, because all sinned—

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: PROVERBS 19-21 2 CORINTHIANS 7


Let Me See


Do we need a revival in our country? Yes, without a doubt, we desperately need revival in our country. But how do we pray for revival? What does revival mean?


One writer said this: "Christian revivalism is increased spiritual interest or renewal in the life of a church congregation or society, with a local, national or global effect."


I see that the most important thing has been left out of that definition: a re-awakening of the individual soul. No move of God recorded in history has started outside of the individual soul. God deals with us on a personal level. Even at Pentecost when the Holy Spirit fell on the believers, the Holy Spirit worked through individual hearts and minds. Each soul perceived it differently and each soul moved and spoke with the power of God in each.


We cannot expect God to move across the nation until our individual hearts are on fire for Him. Psalm 23 does not say 'He restores our souls', does it? It says He restores my soul.


Yes, the scripture does say for us to encourage each other.

1 Thessalonians 4:18 ►"Therefore encourage one another with these words."

But how can we encourage each other if we have no God-inspired courage to share? It is impossible to share fire we don't have. We cannot expect revival to start in our country if it has not started in us.


So, how does it happen? It happens when we see God for who He is after we see that without Him we are nothing.


Try praying these words: "Lord God, let me see me the way You see me ,oh, God...search me and try me-"


I cannot seriously pray for revival for the nation until I submit myself completely without reservation-completely humbled before almighty God. I cannot 'ride the wave' of revival if it is not real in me first.


When we see ourselves as God sees us, it becomes a breaking point. We see ourselves as we stand before our Holy, holy God and our weak, sinful, half-hearted attitudes are nothing but empty air.


Proverbs 14:10 "No one else can know your sadness.

Strangers cannot share your joy."

This divine truth tells us that no one else but God knows how we feel-they cannot feel what we feel-only God...and by the same token, we cannot know theirs.


When I was a boy, I was sitting on a chair in our backyard with a cigar box full of fire crackers between my feet as I popped one at a time. A spark fell in the box and they all started going off. I was so stunned and frightened that I could not move. I was not injured-it took a bit for my hearing to recover and I was shaken emotionally. My friend wanted to know why I didn't move, and I could not say why-no way to explain it-he could not imagine why.


Explanation of revival is impossible but we can experience it together-as one soul at a time is humbled before the power that raised Jesus from the dead. It is not real if it is a wave of emotion as was experienced in 'Beatlemania' where hoards screamed and fainted and cried as the excitement swept through them. This is not revival as some might think. This is animal emotion of the bassist kind.


A real move of God cannot be moved by the flesh. It must be powered by God as we humble ourselves under His mighty hand and move at His bidding as His Holy Spirit moves us with fire. It has happened only a few times in History.


But our God is a consuming fire Hebrews, 12:29.


Let me see...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Erase my sin of thinking I can wait and ride a wave of emotion-my sin of waiting on someone else to 'feel' it.

Let me see me as you see me as I throw myself on Your Holy mercies. Let me know Your fire.

Mighty God that shakes the earth and moves the wind,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page