top of page

Joy In The Dark

‎Thursday, March 4, 2021

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: 2 Corinthians 12:9-11 9 But the Lord said, “My grace is all you need. Only when you are weak can everything be done completely by my power.” So I will gladly boast about my weaknesses. Then Christ’s power can stay in me.  (Easy-to-Read Version)

Memory of the month:  And they said to one another, "Did not our heart burn within us while He talked with us on the road, and while He opened the Scriptures to us?" —Luke 24:32

Today's reading: NUMBERS 26-28 MARK 8



Joy In The Dark



"These are desperate measures for desperate times." We have all heard a version of this saying. But let's talk about what constitutes what we are now calling 'desperate times'.



The country is paralyzed with fear, some panic, some chaos. What is your heart feeling? Are you afraid? Feel helpless? Are you feeling guilty because of the way you feel? What worries you most?



Fear-2 Timothy 1:7 - For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.


Can't seem to let go of the fear? Tell the Lord. He wants to hear you tell Him the truth. Just sit there and listen-be still and know that He is God-Be still and know God. Let go of everything else. Relax-if it does not come right away, do not give up-stay until God speaks peace to your heart-it will happen.


Feeling helpless? 2 Corinthians 12:9-11 Easy-to-Read Version (ERV)


9 But the Lord said, “My grace is all you need. Only when you are weak can everything be done completely by my power.” So I will gladly boast about my weaknesses. Then Christ’s power can stay in me. 10 Yes, I am glad to have weaknesses if they are for Christ. I am glad to be insulted and have hard times. I am glad when I am persecuted and have problems, because it is when I am weak that I am really strong.


Admit you feel helpless and weak and then read those words again and hear God speak them to you, "“My grace is all you need. Only when you are weak can everything be done completely by my power.”


Again, this may take a lot of work, especially if you are a heavy worrier...do not give up-ever...



Are you carrying a lot of guilt because you feel the way you feel? It happens. Only you can stop it from happening. Only you can take all of whatever is bothering you and tell the Lord every word of it. Yes, tell Him all of it. Maybe you could write it down first and then read it to God and then pray what King David prayed, "23Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. 24See if there is any offensive way in me; lead me in the way everlasting.". Psalm 139:23-24



What? Me worry? Don't lie about it-admit it. Tell God your head is so hard you have a hard time letting go. He knows it all anyway-He wants to hear you say it and He wants you to hear yourself say it to Him. Everybody worries a little and, yes, any worry is too much so let it go.



There is that Bible story about Jacob wrestling with God, Genesis 32:22-32, and I have encouraged people to be that persistent. But-the truth is-most times I have to wrestle with myself before I ever get to God and by that time my strength is nearly gone. This is where God wants us all. He wants us coming to Him confessing our total dependence on His strength and His heart.



Go ahead-look in the mirror-we are never worthy to go before God outside of the blood of Jesus, anyway----we have no righteousness of our own-Paul said it this way:


 "I count all things as loss compared to the surpassing excellence of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ 9and be found in Him, not having my own righteousness from the Law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God on the basis of faith.



In the mirror we must see ourself-in Christ-unworthy except that He says we are worthy-unrighteous except  that He says we are righteous in Him-we know this deep in our faith. God says this is who we are.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,


I confess I worry hard and fear much.


Lift me in faith to desire you the way Paul says-I want to know You-the power of the resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in Your suffering.


Gracious and kind God of complete mercy!


In the name of Jesus,


Amen


Psalm 139:11 Suppose I wanted to hide from you and said,


    “Surely the darkness will hide me.


    The day will change to night and cover me.”


12 Even the darkness is not dark to you.


    The night is as bright as the day.







Comentários


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page