top of page

High Places

Tuesday, August 27, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Romans 12:4-5

4 For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, 5 so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading: Psalm 123-125 1 Corinthians 10:1-18


High Places


'High places' are mentioned in many places in the Old Testament. A High place is anywhere that is 'set up' for worship of any god. Abram built the first in Genesis 12:6-8. So, not all high places were against God.


In Deuteronomy 12, we read:2 "Destroy completely all the places on the high mountains, on the hills and under every spreading tree, where the nations you are dispossessing worship their gods."

5 "But you are to seek the place the Lord your God will choose from among all your tribes to put his Name there for his dwelling. To that place you must go;"


High places got out of control with the Jews.


Ezekiel 16:31 "When you built your shrine at the beginning of every street and made your high place in every square..."


In many places it says they did not destroy the high places and many references it says they built them back.


What's in this for us?


How much pride do you have? How 'hard' is your head? Instead of unconditionally loving your neighbor, how often do you judge(or dream about how 'those' people on TV should be punished?) What do you read? How much do you eat? We could go on and on but King David was well aware of his own sin and he prayed,


Psalm 139:23-24

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:

24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.


The problem, as I see it in my life, is Lordship. The very millisecond I take my mind off of Christ Jesus, that is the time I have let down my guard and put my mind on a false high place or stronghold of the enemy.


God is perfect in patience-I am so imperfect in my obedience.

Solution-more work on my attitude of prayer and more humility and more loving of God-more seeking His kingdom.


Serious Lordship.


...because He loves us...


Father in heaven,

Your name is greater than all my feelings and words. Let Your kingdom reality come in my heart as I ask for Your bread to commit and obey this day. Lead me into forgiveness for my neighbors and away from wickedness.

Longsuffering, good and patient God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page