top of page

Guilt

Sunday, July 21, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:   1 John 1:7

7 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  

Today's reading: PSALM 31-32 ACTS 23:16-35


Guilt


Mr. Gavah came to the yearly reception in his $3000 suit with his faithful wife on his arm and was being greeted by all the volunteers in their uniforms. He surveyed the room for any threat to his 'self-realized' position and saw the one man whom he recognized as the 'spiritual leader', the chaplain, of this group.

The chaplain was working his way through the crowd as was his habit and brushed up against Mr. Gavah and greeted him with a smile and a handshake and asked,


 "How's life, Mr. Gavah?" They both stood there for a short time and Mr. Gavah looked at him and said,

"I have no regrets, Chaplain".


Gavah in the Hebrew langauge means proud.


An 'air' or 'aura' of great moral character cannot be manufactured. You are either guiltless or not. To state that you have no regrets does not make it true nor believable-especially when not asked.


In short, saying I am a righteous man does not make it so. It does not make me guiltless.


Humility in confession to God in Christ Jesus does.


Psalm 32:5  "When I acknowledged my sin to you, when I stopped concealing my guilt, and said, “I will confess my offenses to Adonai”; then you, you forgave the guilt of my sin."


Have you ever felt guilt in the presence of a person recognized as a spiritual leader or maybe a person known as a good Bible teacher-or just a person seen as 'good'?


I want to feel comfortable in any room full of people. I believe this comes only when the Holy Spirit lets me feel His freedom. This is because I have been in His secret place for me and I have confessed my falling short of God's Glory(my sin) and am free of guilt. I have stopped concealing my guilt and confessed. He has forgiven me and lifted me up into His 'peace of mind' and heart.


Have you ever put on 'airs' in the company of anyone? (I have.) Be honest with yourself-and God-stop concealing your feelings and tell God. He will free you up. Forgiveness is a happily-divine feeling.


Walking in Christ is a peaceful, happy, and glorious walk where His joy is being made complete in us. Don't miss another heartbeat of this place-God's place for you.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I confess my sin, I have concealed my guilt of not hallowing Your name as I should. I want to know Jesus as I should-I want to experience Your Holy Spirit as I should. Lead me to a guilt-free state of heart and mind. Lead me away from these sins to where I have nothing to hide.

Sweet Lord and friend,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen





Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page