top of page

Green Pastures

‎Friday, ‎May ‎28, ‎2021

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Romans 12:15

Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep.

Memory of the month:  Matthew 5:6 “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be  satisfied.

Today's reading: 2 CHRONICLES 4-6 JOHN 10:24-42



Green Pastures



Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27



(Jesus said)"Let not your hearts be troubles..."John 14



The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want....Psalm 23



All three of these verses are troubling to most of us if we are honest. At times of pain, we are troubled-our hearts are troubled. We lose someone or something and we want them back or it back.



We must know that God's word for us is positive. We must know that in God's love, His desire for us is to be content and not want what we cannot have. That does not keep our human hearts from desiring or wanting but God wants us to see a day in our future when our desires are for Him alone. If our eyes are on the world around us, we will desire that which is of the world. If we are consumed by Him,well, we will be so consumed.



Paul wrote this: Philippians 4:11-13


11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through Christ who gives me strength.



Paul writes, "I have learned; I know;I know; I have learned; I can do all things..."



Paul also wrote: 7Now we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this surpassingly great power is from God and not from us.8We are pressed on all sides, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed. 10We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body.(2 Corinthians 4)



Here Paul says "...we have" and "...we carry"-"...so that the life of Jesus may be revealed in our body."



If we are hurting and our hearts are troubled, we must know God wills for us to have hearts that are not troubled. This is an implied promise of healing. God intends for us to grow into healing and recovery from pain and hurt. God intends for us to grow into a place in His life for us where we know that the green pastures, the still waters, are just beyond the veil of our momentary attentions-in other words-He wants us to learn how to stop and focus-re-focus on Him and His peace.



God wants this focus to be a way of life-a way of breathing.



Acts 17:28 ►For in him we live and move and have our being.'



This is our target in prayer-to live in and move in-to have our being-our very existence in Him.



This can be our life in Christ, everyday, every breath. But---it takes repetition-faithfulness and self-control. Paul says, "...we have"-we have all of this available to us as we live in these 'jars of clay'.



The hardest work most of us will do is learning to stop-in the midst of trial or pain or both and focus on Him- to learn to take all the negative captive and pull down to a singular focus on Him-but He has given us all we need to do this-the comforter, our counselor, the Holy Spirit-the personal, divine, presence of God, Himself is in our lives.



We have to believe we can reach the same point Paul was in when he wrote Philipians 4:13: "I can do all this through Christ who gives me strength."



God wants us in this place.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,


Forgive me for getting so down I cannot see You. Help me learn to take the negative captive and and realize the still waters and green pastures that You have for me.


Loving God of all hope and peace.


In the name of Christ Jesus,


Amen

Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page