top of page

God Hears

Saturday, June 3, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Hebrews 9:28

so Christ was offered once to bear the sins of many. To those who eagerly wait for Him He will appear a second time, apart from sin, for salvation.

Memory of the month: JOhn 10:27-28-27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: 2 CHRONICLES 19-20 JOHN 13:21-38


I Know You Hear Me


It is hard for some of us to have that 'rock-solid' faith that some have and have had. It is faith that says:

"Because the Lord helps me, I have set my face like flint and I will not be put to shame".(Isaiah 50:7)


It helps to look at some of the people from scripture and see what they did and said. God's word will never fail us-in it are the words of life and victory.


Job was in the middle of the worst-he had lost all his children and fortune at the hand of the enemy, the accuser. As he sat in the trash dump covered with sack-cloth and ashes, Job said,

"Even if You kill me, I will trust You(Lord).(Job 13:15)


In 2 Chronicles 20, Jehoshaphat, king of Judah, was faced with an attacking army that was far too great for their smaller forces. He called all the people together and they sought the Lord. Jehoshaphat said,

"9 ‘If calamity comes upon us, whether the sword of judgment, or plague or famine, we will stand in your presence before this temple that bears your Name and will cry out to you in our distress, and you will hear us and save us.’


Jesus had finished some hard teaching and many of his followers left. He looked at the disciples and asked if they wanted to leave Him , also, and Simon Peter said,

"Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.(John 6:60-71)


If we are in a bad spot because of sin, we know what we must do. We must confess and trust God as we ride out the consequences of our sin. God will still deliver us.


But if we are in a bad place because of what life dumps on us, look back at what these people said to God in scriptures. We must get our minds right in light of scriptures and trust-and sometimes that means hanging on when all seems lost-like Job.


Then, God may very well have us in a place where He seeks our full attention(which is all the time, by the way) by means of trial of some kind. Recognize it, buckle down and bless God instead of course-live in His word-hold to Him with everything and keep saying:


"I Know You hear me..."


Because He does hear us...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Build in me the faith of Your examples for me in scripture. Keep me always focused. I want to learn what You have for me in all things.

Mighty and wonderful God!

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page