top of page

Get Past The Chocolate

‎Friday, ‎November ‎19, ‎2021

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 1:1-2

1 Blessed is the man

    who walks not in the counsel of the wicked,

nor stands in the way of sinners,

    nor sits in the seat of scoffers;

2 but his delight is in the law of the Lord,

    and on his law he meditates day and night.

 Memory of the Month: Psalm 33:4

4 For the word of the Lord is right and true;

    he is faithful in all he does.

Today's reading: EZEKIEL 11-13 JAMES 1



Get Past the Chocolate



Years ago a rock band entitled an album, "What once were vices are now habits".

I want us to think about that today. What once was just a temptation is now normal behavior. It is human history-but is it your history? Think long and hard before you answer.



God intends for all men to be free from sin but not free to sin. This is hard for the majority in our country to buy into because we live in the land of the free but is it still the home of the brave?


The 'brave' stand for what is right? Really? The majority of our population has been lulled to sleep by personal choice and the pleasure therein. What can I mean by that? Look around. Listen to the voices.



It is a woman's right to choose to kill. This is the law of our country. What once was a thing of righteous origin has become a vice that has brought about the broad acceptance of this habitual behavior that has been law now for fifty years in America.



God created us as sexual beings for procreation and joy within the bonds of marriage-procreation not recreation.



 The enemy has created the perfect tool against those trying to answer questions about what we will be like in heaven. It is hard to tell someone who has always seen sex as recreation that it will not happen in Heaven because sex outside of marriage is no longer considered a sin. It is considered one of life's greatest joys of the modern race and it is glorified as a 'pursuit of happiness'.



A small child who has tasted chocolate for the first time is overwhelmed with the experience. There is nothing but chocolate that brings such sensations. This child hears about sex in early school and goes home and asked Dad its meaning. Dad searches for an answer and says simply that it is one of the joys of adult life. The child then asks, "Can I eat chocolate when I do it 'cause if I can't, I don't want it whatever it is."



This, of course, pertains to any and all sins and human nature. The child says if I can't have what I want, I'll do what I can to get to the place where I can have it and this child grows into adulthood with this conditioning and thinking and we wind up with selfish children running the world. They look like educated, successful, and powerful people but a child inside pushing their way to satisfaction-that is never satisfied without 'more'.



The enemy wants nothing more than unsatisfied desire.



This is why God says in:

Psalm 37:4 ►Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.



When we delight in the Lord, we find God changes the desires of our hearts. How do I know this? Paul, the apostle

once wanted all Christians dead or locked up and worked endlessly to see it happen-hate consumed him.

Then came Christ into his life and he wrote:

Philippians 4:11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.



The love of God had consumed Him and his former desires of hate in sin had been removed. This is what God does to our sinful 'habits' and the minds of sinful wickedness-He recreates us.



Paul also wrote this:

16 So from now on we regard no one according to the flesh. Although we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. 17 Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away. Behold, the new has come! (2 Corinthians 5:17)



God knows all our sins. Nothing is hidden from His righteous sight. So, do as King David did and pray this prayer:


2 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. 2See if there is any offensive way(sin) in me; lead me in the way everlasting.…Psalm 139



If being dissatisfied is your habitual lifestyle, Jesus did not die for that-He died so you could be content in everything. If you have been created new by Christ, you must pray for forgiveness and then ask God to show you how to delight in Him. I know, we should not have to ask. But we who have allowed our minds to be controlled by earthly desire for so long, we need God's divine power to get past our 'chocolate'.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven

Forgive me my habits, Father, of sin that grieves Your heart. Have mercy on me. Search my heart and show me all my darkness.

Father of all righteous light,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Kommentare


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page