top of page

Faith Or Fret

Tuesday, ‎April ‎4, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Ephesians 1:7 New King James Version

In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of His grace

Memory of the Month: John 10:27-28

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: RUTH 1-4 LUKE 8:1-25


Faith or Fret?


Luke 8:24 The disciples went and woke him, saying, “Master, Master, we’re going to drown!”

He got up and rebuked the wind and the raging waters; the storm subsided, and all was calm. 25 “Where is your faith?” he asked his disciples.


How many times over the years have you reached a point where you really did not know how you could survive in one way or another?


In bad economic circumstances...?

In matters of love or family...?

In loss?

In dark times of civil unrest...?

In dark times of war...?


Some would ask, "So at what point does my faith reach a strength where I will always believe(because the Jesus is my Lord) that I will get through whatever comes?"


The disciples were in a boat with Jesus in a storm with Jesus asleep and were afraid.


Please get a good picture of this. All those men in a small boat-one is asleep in a storm. So, when it started getting dark in the heavens before the storm, did they just not want to bother Jesus or what?


They waited until the boat was getting swamped-filling with water before they woke Jesus.


The point is this: Jesus is never asleep. This passage gives a look at how we perceive God in our lives. We wait until the boat is filling with water before we consult with God? A lot of us do...even in the dark of night, we can tell when a storm is coming-storms don't simply sneek up on us and if we are surprised, the Holy Spirit is never asleep...


Jesus asks of us all, "Where is your faith?. Why have you waited until you are sinking to cry out to me. I have been here all the time-get your faith out of neutral and listen."(Luke 8:8-“Whoever has ears to hear, let them hear.”)


The people around Jesus should already know 'who He is'. We should never have to ask, "God can You really do this?" (Luke 8:25-“Who is this?")


(Jesus said)"Therefore consider carefully how you listen." Luke 8:18


Jesus would have us listen with all we are. We must listen with our heads, hearts, and ears...


Consider carefully...


...because He loves us...


Our Father in Heaven,

Forgive me when I let worry replace faith.

I want to hear completely-I want to hear everything you are saying all the time. Help me to train my focus so that I may really hear...

Great God of all confidence!

In the name of Jesus Christ,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page