top of page

Examples of Light

Wednesday, ‎September ‎21, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: James 1:22 But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: ECCLESIASTES 7-9 2 CORINTHIANS 13


Examples of Light


Have you ever seen dynamite go off in water? A lot of us have never seen regular old dynamite go off anywhere but I just happened to be in the right place at the right time in the early seventies in a rock quarry. A recent rain had left about a foot of water at the edge of a shelf of rock that was about seven feet high and 200 feet by 200 feet. They drilled 99 holes and filled them with sticks of dynamite on top of the shelf. They moved us all 200 yards away behind a bank. I was sitting on my tractor when they set it off. Where the rock met the water turned bright orange as the water was vaporized and the hydrogen ignited. It was a 'first time' event for me. It was a light like I had never seen.


Another time I was working on the railroad in southern Illinois and the workers joined the ends of rails with a 'thermo-weld'-in the dark of a solid cloudy night. The material they used was ignited by phosphorus and when it melted and left its funnel(about a 5 quart size) it dropped one inch to the space between the rails surrounded by a mold. That one inch space allowed the molten iron to light up the space around us for hundreds of feet. This was also a one-time event for me.


I saw light generated by blowing thousands of tons of hard rock into the air during the day. I saw light generated with iron at three thousand degrees farenheit at night.


There will be no need for lights in Heaven.

Revelation 21:23 ►The city does not need the sun or the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gives it light, and the Lamb is its lamp.


Before Heaven, though, on this earth, we have the sun and moon. But the Bible talks about God's light for us.

Matthew 4:16

16 the people living in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned.”


In our darkness:

Psalms 18:28

28 You, LORD, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.


The light that lights Heaven is our God who lives in us-by whom we are marked.

Ephesians 1:13

God put his special mark on you by giving you the Holy Spirit that he promised.


Heaven's light, our light, our God shines in us. All that light is to shine through us.

Matthew 5:16

16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.


Can the world around you see God's light in you or in me?

Hebrews 12:29 ►for our “God is a consuming fire.”


Well, does the world see this light, this fire, in you-in me? This divine light should not be hidden by our sin.


Ask God to forgive you and He will and He will shine...

Psalm 37:6

5 Commit your way to the LORD; trust in Him, and He will do it. 6 He will bring forth your righteousness like the dawn, your justice like the noonday sun.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for letting my sin blot out Your light in my life. Have mercy on me and let me shine for Your namesake.

Mighty God of all light and life,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page