top of page

Even As I Am Known

‎Wednesday, ‎November ‎2, ‎2022

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 119:105 Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.

Memory verse: “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9).

Today's reading: JEREMIAH 27-29 TITUS 3


I Did It Again


A man was talking to me about how he felt and I did not agree but I said,

"I know how you feel". I then realized what I had said and

quickly corrected myself and said, "I'm sorry, I do not know

how you feel but I see how you might feel that way".


How often are we guilty of saying,'I know how you feel', just to move the conversation along or to keep it from getting complicated? How someone feels is only common to them. It is, then, unique to them. Noone, save God alone knows how anyone feels at any given moment. I lost my dad when I was 17. Does that mean I know how a 17 year old feels if they lose their father today. It absolutely does not. I have not walked in their shoes. I have not been in their family...I have not suffered their hardships or felt their greatest joys. I am not them.


When a former president looked into the TV camera and said, "I feel your pain", at best this was a very weak attempt at capturing votes. He was talking to senior adults about not being able to afford their medicines-- only he has not had to pay for his medicines...


No one can tell you what it feels like to get in front of God with your life. I would if I could but I can only vaguely describe what it means for me to be in God's presence. It is so personal. That is why we call it intimate. Intimacy described by a natural man is so far from real intimacy with God that it is comparing rock and water.


Only you can ever know what an intimate relationship is with God because it is unlike anyone else's relationship with the Almighty.

In 1 Corinthians 15:51 and following, Paul says, "Listen, I have a secret--we will all be changed in the twinkling of an eye. We will be perfect and immortal--changed from what we are now--imperfect and mortal.


That being said, I believe we will all have that intimacy--individually--with God our Father. God's whole plan of salvation was to restore that intimacy that was lost to sin and death. Jesus has made this eternal intimacy possible and, in Him, we shall know even as we are known.

1 Corinthians 13:12--12 Now we see but a dim reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me, oh God, that I am so lazy in thought and action of seeking You and meeting with You. Give me undying desire to be in Your presence.

Lover of my soul,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Comentarios


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page