top of page

Do What?

Saturday, June 24, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Memory verse: John 10:27-28...27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: JOB 1-2 ACTS 7:22-43


You Want Me to Do What?


Moses was raised in the house of Pharaoh, ruler of Egypt. Egypt of that time was one of the most powerful countries of the world and certainly the most civilized and educated-the upper class people were educated, anyway. Moses was a recipient of all that this power had to offer. He had seen the finest art. He had trained with the greatest warriors. But Moses had no 'outside the luxury' life experience.


Then, one day, Moses went to visit 'his' people-the Jewish slaves of Pharoah. He saw an Egyptian task master mistreating a slave and Moses killed the Egyptian.


Moses was rejected by his people, the Jews, and now was a wanted man by the Egyptians. He ran away.


Then, 40 years later, at 80 years of age Moses had been through a lot-40 years of luxury-40 years of work and struggle-now he had plenty of life experience. Then, it happened. God spoke to Moses through a burning bush.


What???? At eighty?? Really??? Moses must have thought, "After all I have been through and now You, God, want me to do what?"


"Lead my people out of bondage..."


No matter what stage of life you are in right now, there are still people in bondage to sin around you. People who know you and have seen the way you live. God can still work through you no matter what.


The burning bush...is inside us now.


We who are born again have the Holy Spirit in us and 'our God is a consuming fire'.(Hebrews 12:29)


Moses was eighty-so no age excuses.


Most people who read this were not raised by a king as was Moses, so most of us have had more life experience than Moses had at forty years old.


So, none of us get the 'that's not my job' card. All of us have love to give. All of us know people who need a hand up and all of us have a hand to lend.


Moses ran for forty years and God led him right back to Egypt, so, that says it is never too late.


Pray for direction...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive my many excuses and give me a vision of what You have for me to do. Let me see people with Your eyes of love and fire up my determination to reach them for You.

Great God-Great, great God!

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page