top of page

Divine Spot

Friday, June 16, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Walk as children of light (for the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness, righteousness, and truth), finding out what is acceptable to the Lord.—Ephesians 5:8-10

Memory verse: John 10:27-28...27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: NEHEMIAH 4-7 ACTS 2:22-47


In God's Pocket


My wife taught at a parochial school for a short time and while she was there worked with a sweet little nun from Ireland. The nun had a saying when she would ask a favor, "If you would do that for me, you'll be in God's pocket", she would say happily.


Being the hard-shell I was at the time, I thought how offensive that sounded and how no one should trivialize such a sacred relationship-'in God's pocket'-indeed.


God has shattered my shell over the years and now I want to be 'in God's pocket'. What do I mean by that?


Nehemiah was a servant(captive Jewish slave) in the court of King Artaxerxes of Persia. He had reached a rather high status, 'cup-bearer', and was around the king often. The wise king was sensitive to those around him and seeing that Nehemiah was depressed he asked him, “What is it you want?”


Nehemiah tells the story in chapter 2 of Nehemiah:


Then I prayed to the God of heaven, 5 and I answered the king, “If it pleases the king and if your servant has found favor in his sight, let him send me to the city in Judah where my ancestors are buried so that I can rebuild it.”


We write a lot about prayer and becoming closer with God and this is a place we need to stop and take notice.


Nehemiah was in the presence of a great king when the king asked a direct question. Kings expected immediate answers and Nehemiah was on the spot. He had seen some travelers return from Jerusalem and had heard of the terrible condition of the temple and the people and this caused him to be downcast before the king. He had to answer in a hurry.


But what was the first thing he recorded? "I prayed to God in heaven".


It could not have been a lengthy prayer-the king wanted an answer. So what did Nehemiah mean?


Although Nehemiah was the king's cup-bearer, he was God's prophet and God came first-always. He talked to God all the time and was aware of His never-ending presence. He loved and feared God. He was in 'God's pocket'-the best place any of us can be.


There is nothing disrespectful in that statement at all. We should all strive to be that close to God.


My pocket is just over my heart. Think of it this way: Exodus 33 says

22"and when My glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft of the rock and cover you with My hand until I have passed by. 23Then I will take My hand away, and you will see..."


Isaiah 49:2 He made my mouth like a sharp sword; He hid me in the shadow of His hand. He made me like a polished arrow; He hid me in His quiver.


In God's cleft of the rock or His quiver or His pocket-that is where I want to be...


I want to stay that close to God. We all should feel so close to God that on a moment's notice we can depend on Him for an answer to anyone or anything with courage and peace.


Nehemiah got what he asked for because he was in that place of grace-Nehemiah was next to God's heart-and the king knew it.


Are you in God's pocket? Are you where God wants you to be?


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I confess-I don't always stay as close as I should be to Your heart.

Train me to stay close-and give me the desire to be in Your place of grace where I hear You all the time so I can be ready to give answers to anyone.

Great and merciful Father,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page