top of page

Deep Calls Deep

Thursday, July 25, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:  

Psalm 42:7 Deep is calling to deep at the thunder of your waterfalls;

all your surging rapids and waves are sweeping over me.

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  

Today's reading: PSALM 40-42 ACTS 27:1-26


Deep Calls Deep


The river in our town has been little more than a trickle for the past few years but we had a flood yesterday. This had me recall 35 years ago when I stood at the end of our downtown bridge after a 10 inch flood. (The elevation from here to 60 miles downstream is 1000' feet and that drop results in fast moving flood waters.) The water under the bridge was up about 12 feet and it was a roar I had not experienced as it seemed to shake the very earth leaving a feeling of helplessness against such power.


I thought of that this morning as I read Psalm 42:7 "Deep is calling to deep at the thunder of your waterfalls; all your surging rapids and waves are sweeping over me."


We are helpless against the power of our Living God-but our salvation in Christ means that we are not 'against' all that endless strength-all God's great strength is moving for us and carries us. God goes before us and behind us(Psalm 139:5)and is within us(1 Corinthians 6:19&20).


But the big verse here for me is John 7:38


"Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water."


Deep calls to deep...the need from deep in our hearts calls, yearns for the deep things of God. God's living water flows from us and calls to the deepest part of us-


"Come unto me, return to me, abide in me, I have all you need..."


Do you hear the voice of the One who loves you more than all you know calling? Can you hear the deep calling to deep?


Listen-God has surrounded you with all His roaring power that shakes the earth. Your God-Your savior calls. He waits in His secret place that only you can find.


Deep calls to deep.


...because He loves us...


 Father in Heaven,

I hear the roar of Your great name; please fill me with Your kingdom reality and feed me Your bread of wisdom and strength. Forgive me my reluctance and laziness. Lead me away from lukewarm attitudes.

God who roars greatness and whispers gentleness,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



 



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page