top of page

Blessed God

Thursday, July 4, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:   Matthew 25:23 (ESV)

23 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  

Today's reading: JOB 30-31 ACTS 13:26-52


Blessed God


As a child I remember times when I got in trouble with my Dad-the sound of his voice as it was unhappy with me-the look in his eyes. I even remember the sound of his footsteps as he approached in anger.


But then I remember his laughter and his smile and how much I treasured that. He worked really hard and I recall how it filled my heart to hear him laugh and see him smile and to know how very kind he was under all that life and war hardened exterior.


If we are to love our God with all we are(Matthew 22:37-40), we must be able to grasp how joyful our God is. Why? Because if our God is gloomy and stern, what will Heaven be like?


 Yes, our God is happy.


Matthew 25:23 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’


Jesus said to the repentant thief on the cross, "Today you will be with me in paradise."(Luke 23:43)


Paradise is not a gloomy place. It is a place designed by a happy God who wants His children to be in a state of bliss.


Paul wrote: "... in accordance with the gospel of the glory of the blessed God with which I have been entrusted.(1 Timothy 1:11)


The glory of the 'Blessed' God...blessed here is actually translated 'happy'.


So it says 'the glory of the happy God'-the gospel-the good news-of our happy God.


So many of us have never heard this-or thought about this-but our God is happy. So, if our perfect God is happy, He is perfectly happy and wants us to know His perfect joy.


Jesus said, "These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full." (John 15:11)


Hebrews 12:2 ►fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.


God's joy was and is a reality of Christ Jesus. He knew that His sacrifice would save us from a miserable existence and give us access to unlimited divine joy so we could know His Father's happiness.


Imagine what God's laugh sounds like...


...and this happy God is our God and He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

God of all joy and peace and might, grant me Your bread of joy and strength for this day as I strive to obey and walk in Your Spirit. Forgive me for being weak and lead me away from the misery of sin.

Gentle, happy, and awesomely powerful God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Kerrville, TX 78028, USA

©2017 by Good Morning, Lord. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page