top of page

Better Givers

Friday, October 18,2024

Good morning, Lord

Father in Heaven, I seek You first-Your peace-Your knowledge and discernment. I take up my cross and follow...In Jesus' name...

Verse of the Day: Psalm 27:14

14 Wait for the Lord;

be strong, and let your heart take courage;

wait for the Lord!

Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"

Today's reading: Isaiah 56-58 2 Thessalonians 2


Better Givers

A friend shared with me that when they checked out at a large box store the other day and payed with cash, the checker asked, "Do you want your change back?; I ask because I don't handle pennies...?"

We have reached another level of wierdness, I think...

I tell that because of a piece I read from a Pastor who made the statement, "We work to get. We must learn how to work to get so we can give."

Matthew 20:28 ►"...just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

Jesus came not to get-but to give.

Are we so caught up in what we get and are getting and will get that we can't see to give? If we are in this place, we have lost sight of the real purpose of our lives in Christ.

When Jesus spoke what we call the 'great commission, 'Matthew 28:16-20, He basically told us to give what He has given us.

Jesus told us to give. Period.

Pray that God changes us into the givers we should be.

"Heavenly Father, In Jesus name, As we learn to be better givers, may we learn to be better 'forgivers'. Amen"

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven,

Your name be praised for all You gift us with. Thank You for Your kingdom-for the mind of Christ-for the Holy Spirit. Give me discernment today and wisdom.

God of all good and perfect gifts,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page