top of page

Being Present

Friday, ‎August ‎5, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Jeremiah 33:2-3

“Thus says the Lord who made it, the Lord who formed it to establish it (the Lord is His name): ‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: PSALM 68-69 ROMANS 8:1-21


Being Present


I was chaplain at our local hospital for 12 years and the lessons learned could fill many books. One lesson is that the human touch does as much as medicine at times and so I became known as a 'hugger'. Holding hands and talking to patients was a normal thing.


I had a friend who had been to VietNam and had lost his leg from the knee down in an explosion. I knew him for a couple of years before I knew he walked on a prosthetic and one day he told me the story. I thought he dealt with the trauma well. He was very personable and worked with families all the time at a local business.


His office was in a building on the busiest main street in town and he window faced the street. One day a woman driving down that street had a heart attack and lost consciousness and her truck ran through my friend's front office window. The front wall exploded and hit my friend's desk. The impact was so severe it knocked him out of his prosthetic leg and nearly crushed him. For him, he was back in the jungle in the war.


I got the page to go to the ER and heard the story before I went in to him. On first sight, I could see the terror on his face. His physical injuries were miraculously minor but the psychological trauma could not be measured. His eyes were racing from side to side and that was it. He did not move otherwise. I said softly, "It's ok, you're not in the jungle". He did not respond. His eyes kept moving. I touched his hand but that did nothing so I let go and I sat and said nothing. I was just there.


I learned from that experience that, many times, it is just as important to know what not to say than what to say-silence is priceless when silence is called for-if people want you to speak, they will let you know-if they want a touch, they will make the first move.


The shock wore off and my friend went back to work in a few days and seemed to be as usual. We remain friends today.


People who have been through traumatic experiences are everywhere-all around us. As followers of Christ Jesus, the more time we spend in the presence of our Master, the better we can read folks-because of the flowing love. It cannot be taught; it must be learned and known.


My wife and I took our down-syndrome son to the movies when he was about six. After the movie, we ran into a couple in the lobby with their down-syndrome son who was much older than our boy. No words were exchanged between the boys. But as we parents talked, my son slowly walked over and took the hand of the other boy and they stood there and listened and held hands. No words-but so much love.

Philippians 4:5-7

5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Proverbs 21:23 One who guards his mouth and his tongue, Guards his soul from troubles.


All this is to let many of us 'off the hook'. We feel obligated to speak at times and make small talk but try not speaking until you are approached a few times and see what freedom this affords you. It teaches us to let the love flow before words.

Proverbs 17:28 A man of knowledge restrains his words, and a man of understanding maintains a calm spirit.


And remember, a smile and a handshake is still one of the most welcoming and 'disarming' acts known to mankind.


God flows His love through us, so relax.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me, Lord for speaking before I listen to You. Teach me to listen first. I am listening.

Great God of serenity and purpose.

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Kommentare


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page