top of page

Apply Your Heart

Sunday, December 31, ‎2023


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:   John 16:33 New King James Version


These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”  

Memory verse: Philippians 4:8 ►Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Today's reading: MALACHI 1-4 REVELATION 22



Apply Your Heart


Proverbs 22:17 Pay attention and turn your ear to the sayings of the wise;

    apply your heart to what I teach,


This verse does not say 'follow your heart'. It says apply your heart.


Naturally, the bible says the heart is a wicked thing.

Jermiah 17:9 The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it? 10 I, the LORD, search the heart; I examine the mind to reward a man according to his way, by what his deeds deserve.


The Lord rewards our 'deeds'. So, let one of your deeds be 'turning your ears' and another deed be applying your heart to God's wisdom that you hear in scripture. Ask God to show you how to 'apply your heart ' to what your 'turned ears' hear.


What does 'apply your heart' mean? If you apply ointment to a small scratch, what is the applicator? Your fingers. If we want  to apply our heart, what is the applicator? Our will...


Our will is in our 'minds' that Jeremiah 17 says God examines. God knows your mind and when we honestly will or want to 'apply our hearts' to His wisdom, what do you think God will do? God will make it happen.


I believe that this is an act of the Holy Spirit. He gives us this desire to get more from God's wisdom in His word because we earnestly seek Him and the scripture says God will reward the deserving deed-in our case, our desire, our will to apply our hearts.


Guitars have to be tuned and re-tuned over and over-but, if you want the best sound, you keep tuning. Tune you ears-make sure your heart is free from guilt by confessing before God and apply your heart to God's instruction.


He will give you all you ever need.(2 Peter 1:3-5)


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Search me and try me and show me if I have omitted some sin and forgive me.

Lead me into hearing you and applying my heart to your wisdom.

Infinitely kind and gentle Teacher,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page