top of page

Salt

Sunday, March 3, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:    Job 23:10-11

But He knows the way that I take; When He has tested me, I shall come forth as gold. My foot has held fast to His steps; I have kept His way and not turned aside.

Memory verse: Romans 8:32 ►He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?

Today's reading: NUMBERS 29-31 MARK 9:1-29


Salt


Mark 9:50 “Salt is good, but if it loses its saltiness, how can you make it salty again? Have salt among yourselves, and be at peace with each other.”

According to scientists who know such things, pure salt does not spoil or go bad. Most salts now have additives that will outlive a shelf life but salt never goes bad.


Why does Jesus say, then, "...if salt loses its saltiness, how can you make it salty again?"

In Matthew, Jesus precedes that statement with, "You are the salt of the earth."Matthew 5:13-16

From this I hear Jesus say that since we are, in Him, the salt of the earth-and God will not let us go under any circumstance-that we cannot lose our Divine 'salt'-but-in solution-we have let ourselves become 'mixed up' by sin. Remove the foreign substance(by repentance,1 John 1:9) and retain our savor-Jesus is the source of our incorruptible salt.

Mark 9:50-Have some salt among yourselves-use the Fruit of the Spirit-God's common-yet divine- common sense. Live in peace.


'Have salt' is a command. The continuous energy of salt is secured only by our inner effort-again, seeking His kingdom first...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I Let myself get mixed up so easily in my sin. Forgive me and lead me to retain your salt in my heart.

Gentle God,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Opmerkingen


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page