top of page

Hope

Wednesday, ‎September ‎7, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Philippians 1:6 being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ;

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: PROVERBS 1-2 1 CORINTHIANS 16


Faith Hope And Love


Our prayer list at our small church is really long, especially the 'those with cancer' section. We have prayed long for so many who are ill and we have prayed for all kinds of illnesses and troubled hearts. I have watched the faith of many grow even when the answers to their prayers are not what they wanted. There is a problem for some who have a hard time waiting and I get it. I want things now and I want what I want so why does God make us wait or why does God go in another direction?


God's will is hard to understand at times. It is hard to sometimes not lose hope. So how do we not lose hope. I have held someone I loved as their soul left to go home with Jesus even as I prayed, "In the name of Jesus, God heal". So, how do I not lose faith? How can I keep going and following Christ?


There were a lot of questions. There were many tears and still are from time to time. Hope survives in the hand of God. If we stay humble under God's hand, God pours grace out over us and hope stays because God never leaves.

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you. – 1 Peter 5:6-7 ESV


We may leave God for a time in our pain or anger but God never abandons us.

Isaiah 41:10 talks about God’s “righteous right hand”,

Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life; you stretch out your hand against the wrath of my enemies, and your right hand delivers me. – Psalm 138:7 ESV


We fear we may lose something or someone else and feel guilt for our lack of faith. Listen to that: "feeling guilty for a lack of faith"...guilt for what? We feel guilty before God for lack of faith because we know He is knowing all we feel? What lack of faith? We have the faith because it is a gift of God. We have weak 'feelings' because we are hurt or disappointed and all that fear or pain has covered up our faith-or our own sin has thrown up a barrier between us and God-temporarily-but our faith 'is' God and He is not letting go.

Fear not, for I am with you;

Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are continually before me. – Isaiah 49:16 ESV


All through our lives we are being shaped by the Master's hands. The clay may fall and need reshaping but the potter never gives up.

But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand. – Isaiah 64:8 ESV


The breath of God is our hope. As long as God has breath, we have hope. God is always-eternal.

In his hand is the life of every living thing and the breath of all mankind. – Job 12:10 ESV


Pray on. We cannot stop. God holds us up when we think we cannot go on-when we seem to have lost hope-God is the constant in all this life. Life may not happen the way we want.

Psalm 139:6-11 (International Children’s Bible)

6 Your knowledge is amazing to me.

It is more than I can understand.


God holds us up when we think all is lost.

Isaiah 41:10 (International Children’s Bible)

10 So don’t worry, because I am with you.

Don’t be afraid, because I am your God.

I will make you strong and will help you.

I will support you with my right hand that saves you.


Why?


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for getting lost in my worry. Breathe life into my hope, oh God.

Our God of all hope,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page